Skip to content

A Willy Wonka Halloween

October 28, 2014
by

We toss around ideas throughout the year for Halloween costumes. It’s almost in the same way that we toss around names that’d be perfect for a cat if something were to ever happen to Chewie. (Don’t die, Chewie!)

At one point, Jack and I were going to be evil minions and Reid was going to be Gru from Despicable Me, but once Jack got into Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, there was no looking back.

I went to the beach last weekend, but rushed to make sure Jack’s costume was ready before I left so he and Reid could go to a fall festival Saturday morning and then, trunk or treat Sunday night when I got home.

Jack’s costume came together much easier than I ever expected. I was kind of dreading it, but Reid reminded me that if he could make that robot costume and I could make the Prince Charming costume, that we could do this.

Regardless, it was totally worth it! I can’t get enough of him in this costume!

Jack and Reid were really popular at the festival and the trunk or treat; lots of people asked to take their picture, ha!

Before I continue, let’s all applaud this Sharknado costume.

Ok, back to Jack’s costume.

I’ve looked up countless Oompa Loompa costumes and always appreciate when others explain how they made theirs, so I wanted to make sure to include how we did ours.

The wig was ordered online. The shirt is a turtleneck from Wal-mart with ribbon attached to the neck and wrists via double sided tape, which has held up extremely well. The socks are just brown socks were done the same way, but, it hasn’t held up and need something else. Most people either attach felt or paint the stripes.

After buying the fabric to sew pants by making my own pattern, I found these large white sweatpants from Academy. I cut the pant legs off and hemmed them with hot glue (my sewing machine quit!) and glued the bottom edge to make it tighter around his leg. I made the suspenders from plain white fabric and glued buttons on from Hobby Lobby.

The pants puff out of the sides because Reid rolled up socks to put in his pockets. The balls on his shoes are Styrofoam with paint. Sounds like a lot, but it’s really not.

I have orange paint for Jack’s face, but he only wanted the white eyebrows, which turned out fine.

Reid’s vest was a crazy lucky find from the thrift store. He spray painted and added ribbon to a black hat found at a costume store.

I have a red dress to use as my base for my Veruca Salt costume, but I’m not sure if I’ll go through with it or not.

And because I love a flashback collage, here are Jack’s costumes from years past.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    November 1, 2014 11:28 am

    This is awesome! I’m so glad you explained how you did it! Great idea and great job pulling it off!

Leave a Reply

