Skip to content

Museum Gathering

June 5, 2013
by

Samantha and her mom, Gladys, have started The {Little} Gathering this Summer. In a nutshell, it’s meeting with other moms and kids for an activity and a discussion on home education. Not just homeschooling, but instilling a love of learning and exploration in our children.

Yesterday was our first meeting and we went to the Birmingham Museum of Art.

Jack and I didn’t get there early like I was hoping. I forgot I needed to put air in my tires and got a little turned around when I was trying to find parking.

We ended up parking in a parking garage and Jack got so excited. He has a Matchbox garage, so he couldn’t believe we were in a real one, ha!

The museum is free and has two rooms designated for children with lots of hands on activities. I was so impressed and I know we’ll be back soon; there were so many things we didn’t even get to, yet!

Honestly, I didn’t spend a lot of time talking with the other moms. I was a little intimidated and/or maybe I didn’t have enough coffee in my system to make me feel social, ha!

When we go to the park with friends, I usually end up playing with Jack because he wants me to climb, slide, and swing with him, rather than playing with the other kids. So, it’s not really a social time for me to catch up with friends, which is fine. I can’t be mad that he wants me to play with him when I want to be selfish and talk with my friends.

So, I knew going into this Jack would want me to be by his side most of the time.

There were blocks of different textures; I couldn’t stop staring at the fabrics in this one.

Some of the textures tickled and Jack thought it was so hilarious.

They weren’t exactly playing together, but I still love this photo of Jack with Lily Kate. Holly, Lily Kate’s mom, and I have been close friends for a while, so seeing our kids together always makes me happy.

I told Jack there might be a craft, which usually he gets really excited about, but he didn’t spend as much time here as I thought he would. There were too many other things to check out.

All the kids together.

After playing, we went across the street to Linn Park for a picnic.

When we were walking back to our car, Jack informed me he was going to fall asleep on the way home. All I could think was, “Yeah, right. I’ll believe it when I see it.” And I did see it!!!

He fell asleep in the car with Reid a few weeks ago, but that’s about it as far as naps from Jack, so this was a very special treat.

Overall, it was a great day. I’m hoping to be more social and get to know the other moms better next time we’re together.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

