Skip to content

A Random Afternoon

June 3, 2013
by

Without going into too much detail, Jack doesn’t love childcare situations. Or situations with lots of kids. He is very much an introvert.

When I say “doesn’t love” these situations, I mean there is full on screaming and lots of tears.

And I didn’t always understand, but I’m starting to get it a little more lately as to what’s going on in his head. But that’s another post for another day.

All that to say, I’ve recently cancelled my gym membership. The stress of it was too much; I can pay a lot less to go somewhere else without childcare since I can’t take him.

I have 2 months until my membership is finished, so I can still go at night or on the weekends when Reid can watch Jack.

Almost every week, I psych myself up and tell myself this is the day I make Jack go back to the gym. But I chicken out because I don’t want to deal with the stress.

But, I’d rather workout during the day. And, during July, Reid will be out of town for a while, so I’ll need to make it to the gym with Jack.

Today, I did it. I really did it.

I had been preparing Jack for it all day.

When it came time to get ready, Jack lost it. So much screaming and tears.

After he calmed down, I let him fill his backpack with whatever he wanted to take and told him he could use his Leapster. Oh, and Roger was chosen to come along, too.

He rarely gets to use the Leapster, so he was happy about getting it back.

I made the deal with him that if he went to the gym, he could play his Leapster the whole time.

He was actually excited about going. And even asked me to take pictures.

This picture might be a new favorite.

Jack calmly walked into the gym, walked into the childcare room, and let me walk him in to find a quiet place to sit with no other kids around him and he started playing his game.

People, this is the same kid who would grab onto the door frame of the childcare room with his tiny fingers so we couldn’t get in and scream to go home for about 10 minutes after I’d leave the room.

And, then, a childcare worker would have to hold him the entire time I was working out. Thus, why I stopped taking him; too much stress on him just for me to workout.

Anyways, when I went to pick him up, he was in the same spot. He packed up his backpack and headed out the door with me as if he didn’t have a care in the world.

Meanwhile, I’m going nutso. Wanting to bounce around and squeal.

It was glorious. Truly glorious.

Tomorrow, we’re going to the museum with lots of other moms and kids, so it’ll be interesting how Jack reacts to all the commotion. I’m planning to get there early, so he can get comfortable with his surroundings before everyone gets there. Jack very much prefers one-on-one situations over large groups, but sometimes he surprises me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

