Skip to content

A Park in the Woods

May 15, 2013
by

I’m ashamed to say we’ve lived in this area for almost 6 years and this park is 2.5 miles from my house and Monday was our first time there.

In my defense about not knowing about this park, it’s very hidden. And driving by, you’d never realize there’s even a playground back there in the woods.

There’s another park closer to our house, but there is no shade and it’s very spread out, so when we meet for playgroups, we’re all over the place.

Samantha told me about this park and I see why she drives to this side of town just to bring her kids to the park.

This park is completely shaded by trees and by a creek. It doesn’t get much better than that, my friends.

Jack got a major haircut that morning. I love his hair longer, but it’s so hot outside and it grows so fast.

We had the place to ourselves, so we ran from one thing to the next. Jack is all about rock wall climbing lately. He was once scared of them and wouldn’t even try it, so seeing him conquer his fears and be brave makes me so happy.

Can you tell he loves to swing?

He even likes to push me on the swing.

I put him in my lap and we were able to swing together for a while. Jack thought I was so smart for coming up with this style of swinging.

And, of course, we played on the seesaw.

Before we left, we chased some squirrels and then, walked towards the open part with the waterfall.

It’s the perfect place for a picnic.

I’m realizing more and more lately how close we are to Jack going to preschool, then kindergarten. I want to soak up this time as much as I can and appreciate him in this moment.

Everywhere we go, older parents mention how they’d give anything to go back to the time when they’re kids were younger. I’m living in that moment that these people want back. And I don’t want to regret how I spend this time with him.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2013 6:23 am

    What an awesome park!! Better finding it now than never šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

