Skip to content

March 25, 2013
by

Do not fear. This will not be a whiny week of “where did my baby go!?” type of posts. I’m past that.

I’ve moved onto, “Whoa! I love having an older kid!”

Four may not seem old, but compared to a 6 month old or what have you, it’s a big difference.

Here’s what I’m loving about Jack at this very moment that we couldn’t get at a younger age:

1. COMMUNICATION
This kid never shuts up. But, I know what he’s thinking about. I know what he’d like to eat for dinner. I know why he’s crying. There’s no guessing involved.

And I get compliments on my pjs at 6:30am because he just happens to notice how cute they are. And he notices when/if I paint my nails. And if I use a new dish at the dining table. And wants to know where I bought it.

Feeding Walter pancakes

With the talking comes the “I love you”s.

And, watching him act and tell us stories. And laugh and laugh at him.

Also, his personality is coming out more. He likes to prank us and play jokes.

Oh, and I can’t leave off the excitement about everything. Cupcakes, Reid coming home from work, his birthday, craft time, donuts, etc. There are squeals and high-pitched “Yay!Yay!Yay!”s.

2. DO IT YOURSELFNESS
If he wants to watch a movie, he can pick it out and set it up himself. He can feed himself his own food. He can undress and dress himself.

3. POTTY TRAINED
Enough said, right?

4. IMAGINATION
We seem to be acting out scenes from Star Wars more and more lately. Jack uses the force on us to choke us and we struggle to get loose. That sounds morbid, but if you’ve seen the movie, then you get it.

And there are sword fights. And I think Jack thinks he and Chewy, the cat, have conversations.

This is in no way exhaustive, but just a few I can think of right now.

I’m not putting down smaller kids, just recognizing that I love where we are at this very moment.

When I was little, my mom would tell me how lucky she was to be my mom. I always found that to be a strange statement or a strange way to put it. But, I kind of get it now. I’m so happy to have Jack in our lives and to experience everything through his eyes.

Aaaaaaand that concludes all the sappiness you’ll get out of me this week.
the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nana permalink
    March 26, 2013 10:21 pm

    I loved reading this blog. I am so glad that Jack has you for a Mommy. You and Jack are a perfect match. Thanks for being such a wonderful mother to my grandson. Enjoy his birthday tomorrow and on through the weekend. We are excited to celebrate with him on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

