Skip to content

Star Birds

February 1, 2013
by

Yesterday (Wednesday) was a full day of being out and about in the rain.

We went to story time at the library, then lunch with friends, and other random stores to do things I’d been putting off- like exchanging a new coffee pot, etc.

The two main obsessions going on in this house right now in the life of Jack are Star Wars and Star Wars Angry Birds.

I think yesterday was the first day in two weeks Jack played with toys that weren’t Star Wars related. I’m not kidding. I knew Jack would grow to love Star Wars, but I thought it’d be at the age of 6 or 7, not 3.

I feel a bit left out, only because Reid grew up loving Star Wars and every toy Jack has was Reid’s at one point. Jack has a million questions and is particular about making sure he learns every characters name.

Don’t get me wrong; I love this whole Star Wars situation. It’s really entertaining and ridiculously cute.

But, at Old Navy yesterday, I found where I connect with Star Wars. Clothes.

We saw this shirt and I’ve made a mental note to keep watching for it to go on clearance. Jack and I both got so excited when we saw it!

It seemed that everywhere we went, we saw TONS of Angry Birds, Star Wars Angry Birds, and Star Wars stuff. I had no idea the SW Angry Birds thing was so huge. We saw pajamas, backpacks, underwear, t-shirts, hats, games, etc.

I wanted to buy him the Angry Birds underwear, but $15 for a 3 year olds underwear is not happening over here. BUT, we found a pack of Darth Vader underwear that rang up for $1.65 at Kohl’s!

So, I may not be completely into Star Wars action figures and villages and podracers, but I am totally into finding cute Star Wars stuff for Jack.

Jack has been begging for Darth Vader slippers; I found a pair for $5 from KMarts, so he’ll be getting these for Valentine’s Day.

And, these pajamas might be a birthday present in March.

I thought we’d do a low-key airplane themed birthday this year, but it doesn’t make sense to do that with all this Star Wars business going on. I really wanted to save a big SW party for when he was a little older, but honestly, he can have a Star Wars birthday every year if he wants.

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    February 1, 2013 8:05 am

    Love when they get an obsession. If he has a star wars party every year, it will be so easy to plan each time… you would already have decorations and ideas galore by the time he’s 10. We are having so many star wars questions from Sam right now too and I have no idea who the guys are or what they do.

  2. Katy permalink
    February 1, 2013 4:19 pm

    I bet you could whip up a super awesome Star Wars t-shirt on your own! Or maybe you can just wait until the one you found at ON goes on sale…but I am pretty sure you could make one even better 😉
    It is incredible that he already has a distinct interest in something specific…his little personality is certainly showing as he grows!

Leave a Reply

