Skip to content

We Built A {Gingerbread} House!

December 8, 2012
by

Lowes and Home Depot offer free kids projects on certain Saturdays. I always forget about them, but made it a point to register and go today.

Reid and I didn’t sleep well and Jack was up early, so it wasn’t the best morning. Reid wasn’t feeling well and my back and head were hurting, so I didn’t want to go, but I knew I’d regret it and Jack was looking forward to “craft time.”

Even on the way there, I was in a grumpy mood. And felt like the worst mom ever.

But, once we got there, I snapped out of it and forgot all about how the morning had gone.

I have to say, though, I was nervous about building this little house by ourselves. I had go give myself a mental pep talk, saying “You’ve helped put on roofs on real houses! You can do this!”

Thankfully, the instructions were Ashley and Jack friendly.

Jack has a tendency to get overwhelmed in loud, crowded situations, but he did really great.

We had a good system with me starting each nail and him finishing them. I was pretty impressed by his hammering skills.

His favorite feature is that it opens. He immediately declared he wanted to put his tiny ornaments in it.

I don’t know where he gets this from…

We were both pretty proud of ourselves.

I’m so glad we went this morning. I only wish we would have started going to more workshops sooner, but there are plenty for next year. Also, Michaels Craft Stores offer free kids classes, too.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    December 9, 2012 10:15 pm

    So fun! You’ve inspired me to check out some of these workshops!

Leave a Reply

