Skip to content

The Answer to the Questions

September 6, 2012
by

Maybe I’ve avoided this type of post for a few months. I mean, how many times can one person post on a blog, “Hey, I quit my job and found something different!” I’m counting about six times, so far.

I just couldn’t bring myself to do it in March, since I had just posted in January about starting personal training again and quitting a different job.

But.

In March, I took the plunge of opening a shop, Mildred & Madge, on Etsy. My mom and some friends had been encouraging me to do it for a while, but I had no desire for it. Also, I feel that everyone and their mama (in my case, it’s true!) is on Etsy, so why would anyone buy anything from me?

In my mind, I’d set myself up to fail already. Plus, I’ve always said I never, ever want to be in charge of anything business wise or own my own business.

I’m not sure what clicked or what changed, but out of no where, I was like, “Whatever. Let’s just do this.”

And I did.

I sold a Mickey Mouse shirt in the first 24 hours. It was insanely exciting! Like, call everyone I’ve ever met exciting. Someone likes me. They really like me.

And then, more orders came in. And I was overwhelmed. I was still working a few afternoons a week personal training at the gym and Jack stopped napping right when I opened the shop, so I was drowning.

I was still getting the hang of things- finding the best price on gowns, caps, making samples, finding packaging details, etc.

So, after being a huge ball of stress, Reid and I talked about it and I decided to take a leap and quit my “real” job.

And it really has been the best decision.

At first, I had all these ideas for cinch bags, tea towels, and kid’s shirts, but I didn’t have time to make the samples and the baby gowns are the most popular, so I’ve spent most of my time focusing on the gowns.

There are definitely pros and cons to working from home.

I can travel whenever I want and I’m home more with Reid and Jack, while still making money and adding to our income. And I’m doing something I really enjoy.

At the same time, I’m still new at this and trying to find a balance so I’m not working all the time. I feel like I’m never off work; if I’m sitting to watch tv, well, I could be stitching a gown while I do that. Or emailing customers back. And, oh, I need to figure out what I’m going to do about taxes. Gross.

I’ve actually closed the shop right now to catch up on orders and make sure everyone gets what they need on time. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll have zero orders staring at me when I open Etsy on Monday morning.

I may take a few more days off, after that, to just enjoy being with Jack and focus on enjoying being home without working. We’re, also, going to the beach at some point this month, so I’m trying to be careful with orders so I’m not working at the beach.

I hope that doesn’t sound like I’m complaining. Seriously, seeing customer pictures makes me want to cry! And reading positive feedback does something for my heart. (PS: If you purchase something on Etsy, please leave feedback and/or pictures and let them know if you love it!)

I am crazy blessed and can’t believe I actually get to do this and make money. It’s ridiculous.

It’s still a learning process and probably will be for a while.

I have so many new gowns and new products I want to do; I really want to do a Christmas gown, if I can ever decide on the fabrics.

Oh, and can we talk about how badly I want a real logo and some branding going on!?

So, there’s the shorter version of what I’ve been doing for the past six months.

the end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 9:08 pm

    I love this. How much are they??

  2. Trudy permalink
    November 1, 2012 8:28 pm

    Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be
    waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

  3. July 18, 2013 10:41 am

    Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix
    this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

