Skip to content

Three Cheers for Drugs!

September 5, 2012
by

This is monumental and I really don’t think I’ve blogged it…

This was my first Summer (and will, hopefully, be my first Fall) without PSORIASIS!

Did you hear me!??

After struggling for 10 years and trying all the creams, oils, pills, and injections, I finally found the right injection for me. Or, I found the right doctor with the right solution.

I started the injections in Octoberish(?) of last year. At the time, I was covered. Spots on my head, face, back, ears, legs, booty, chest, and stomach.

The injections are only once every three months. I think by my 2nd injection, I was almost completely clear and by my 3rd, it was all gone.

It’s unreal to feel or see normal skin on my body. To wear tank tops and shorts without feeling self-conscious.

No one staring. No one asking if I’m covered in bug bites. Or if I burned myself with a curling iron (yes, it’s been asked more than once).

It’s actually become quite normal to have clear skin that I have to remind myself how great it is and not to take it for granted.

And, because pictures tell a better story…here’s a shot from 2009. My psoriasis flared up like the plague right after I gave birth to Jack.

This was late last October, when things were dying down and I was already seeing some improvement.

This was from June, notice no scabs!

And, then, my face.

I feel super exposed right now. And I’m not sure how I feel about it.

So, there’s that. It took a lot of trial and error, but I’m hoping it’s all over.

PS: I listened to a podcast recently and have been doing a little research on what psoriasis does to the inside of your body and how to heal from it. It’s pretty intense. It seems like there’s always new things to read about the subject.

the end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

