Skip to content

Around Here

August 1, 2012
by

Sorry for anyone (Reid) coming to my page for the past few weeks and seeing “Chicken ball” over and over. Gross.

Here’s a post to remedy that grossness.

– Reid painted the kitchen!

It really looks amazing and has such a nice, clean feeling to it. I feel more relaxed in the kitchen now than I did with the red on the walls. Is that crazy talk or can that be true? I think it’s true.

The new feeling and new love for the kitchen came at a good time; I feel like I’ve been in the kitchen a lot lately trying new things.

– For the first time, my spaghetti squash turned out! I found out the trick is to not overcook it! I was pretty excited about it.

I made a homemade spaghetti sauce to go with it; I can’t find the recipe right now, but it was amazing. It was good the first night, but amazing leftover.

– I’ve been trying my hand at other culinary things- like making my own ketchup, ha! I, even, roasted a whole chicken for the first time this week!

The oven was too hot and smoke was everywhere and the fire alarm was going off. Meanwhile, Jack was in the bathroom, rubbing soap all over his body. Sometimes I feel like I’m in an “I Love Lucy” episode.

But, the chicken was saved and we’ve eaten off of it for three days.

– Favorite Laundry had a sale on fabric and it was insane. I got all this fabric for around $5 (what I’d pay for a latte at Starbucks)!

I have no idea what to do with some of it, but you never know when you’ll need a certain fabric, right?

– Jack is getting huge. Well, maybe not huge since he still weighs in at 25 pounds–where he’s been for about a year! But, still.

There’s so much new with Jack, but that deserves a whole post. Maybe, tomorrow. Two posts in one week. Whoa.

– This heat doesn’t bother me as much as I’d thought, but we have a hard time playing outside because of the mosquitoes. So very annoying. So, we’ve been coming up with new things inside.

I built a fort for Jack and was so proud of myself. But after 5 minutes, Jack decided he didn’t like it and wanted it taken down. Rude.

I kept it up all day on principle. I even used a broom up in there! Come on!

the end. for now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

