Skip to content

Disney Countdown

May 4, 2012
by

This week has been a little crazy. The craziness led to my being in a haze the past two days. Today, I fixed it with some good ol’ caffeine.

Reid’s been doing the main cleaning around the house the past couple weeks. I hadn’t managed my time well and cleaning goes to the bottom of the list when I’m trying to get rush orders out the door.

Last night, while I was in bed and couldn’t sleep, I decided today would be different.

I got coffee. I cleaned Jack’s room, which is always a huge task for some reason. I grocery shopped and planned our meals for the weekend, which includes some of Reid’s favorite meals since I need to cook more and Reid had a bad week at work. I did laundry, so Reid wouldn’t have to do it this weekend.

And the best thing of all, I made our Disney countdown.

I wasn’t planning to do this til 30 days out, but someone has been requesting it and is in full-on Disney mode, so we’re starting it at 40 days out.

I researched Disney countdowns a while back and saw all these amazing ideas. One I really liked was a paper chain countdown with facts about Disney each day.

Since Jack is three, I switched out the facts and placed movies. So, for every day, there is a different movie. We probably won’t watch the whole movie that day, we’ll at least watch parts and maybe have a food related to it or some kind of activity for that day.

Initially, I wanted to do themed days based off the rides and parks at Disney World, but we went with this instead. However, thrown in there are Mickey Mouse, Goofy, and Donald Duck days so we can watch some of our black and white DVDs for these characters.

And I know you have a huge question: What movie are we leading up to??? The final movie is Cinderella. I wanted to make sure it’s fresh on Jack’s mind when we get to Disney and tell him we’re at Cinderella’s castle.

In other Disney prep news, Reid is re-reading his Walt Disney biography. (Like all the little fingerprints on the coffee table? It can’t stay clean!)

And we have another countdown on the iPad.

And both of our iPods are fully loaded with 8 hours of Disney magical bliss–soundtracks, songs from rides, etc.

I still haven’t finished Jack’s outfits and have so many odds and ends to pick up (like a stroller fan) before we go. Considering we’ve been thinking about and planning this trip for over a year, it’s kind of sneaking up on me.

But, I don’t mind.

By the way…if you’re thinking about wanting your own Disney magical trip, they’re offering discounts at certain resorts this Fall. Or, you could always try for the free dining plan in the off-season. Those two make great deals.

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2012 1:20 pm

    a. you’re crazy
    b. are you guys going to make this trip a yearly thing?? – b/c we are “planning” on taking the boys next summer
    c. are ya’ll going this year with just your little family or is extended family going too??

Leave a Reply

