Skip to content

Name Change and a Vote

March 16, 2012
by

Remember how I JUST posted about opening a shop on Etsy called The Paisley Elephant?

Like in the last post?

I was just kidding.

I had done my research and knew the name wasn’t taken….Until, trying to register the name in an Etsy URL, I found out some woman in California has this as her user name. So, since she has this, even though she doesn’t have a shop yet, I had to come up with a new name.

So, I did.

It’s the name that’s so ugly that it grows on you and it just works.

Mildred & Madge.

I like double name things/places– Like Morgan Ashley Salon or Hannah Kate clothing, so why not this? And the two names happen to be my grandmothers’ names.

Two people named Mom and Deena are to thank for helping me figure this out.

Moving on…

So, I’m working on samples and trying to get ready to open. On a week that Jack isn’t napping because he misses his paci. Which means, I’ve been staying up late.

Also, I’m thinking about being a vendor at a spring festival in April, which scares the crap out of me, but it could be a good thing.

Here’s where I need a vote….

I’m making cinch bags for the shop. They’re really cute, but I wonder if I should stick with them being cinch bags or go the next level and make them drawstring backpacks??

I may offer both options? Or offer an upgrade to a backpack, if they wanted it??

What do you think!????

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 7:08 pm

    i really just wanted to comment and say that i LOVE mildred & madge. that is very catchy. everything about it seems perfect for what you are doing! : )

    i would put a vote in about the cinch bags or backpacks, but i really don’t know. i will say though…that we were at the beach a week or two ago and i saw a lot of young folks on spring break carrying the little backpacks like that. seems like they would be easier/more functional…but i’m not sure.

  2. Nana permalink
    March 16, 2012 10:09 pm

    Love the name! I would say do both, IF you think it is not much more trouble to sew and like you said, add a few more dollars for the backpack style.

  3. amymezzell permalink
    March 17, 2012 11:11 am

    That fabric on the bottom is what I made Cora’s curtains with! I loveeee it.

    As for the bag vs. backpack, I would probably offer both. Of course, just make one backpack if you want for the picture, and then you can post pics of the other fabric choices instead of making them all.

Leave a Reply

