Skip to content

Birthday Planning

March 6, 2012
by

March is here, which means one main thing to me: it’s Jack’s birthday month!

Normally, by this time, I’d be up to my eyeballs in party blogs, Joanns and Hobby Lobby receipts, cut up scrapbook paper, string, and I’d be twitching a little from staying up late researching ideas.

This year, however, I’m scaling back.

We’ll be having several celebrations during Jack’s birthday week. Both of our families will be here on his actually birthday, so we’ll have a small party that night, just the grandparents (and his Aunt Lauren) and us.

I’ll probably take Jack to get ice cream and to play at Chick-fil-a for just our own mommy and Jack date sometime that week.

And, I’m hoping to bring cupcakes to the park and invite his friends for a playdate at the park during the week.

And that weekend, we’re going to the airshow in Tuscaloosa.

Lots of celebrations, not one big thing.

I may still make a banner (or hang up his old one), because I can’t help myself, and he’ll have some kind of cake on his birthday.

Oh, and there will be balloons all through the house on his birthday.

I’m still trying to think of a theme because even without a big planned out party, he still needs a theme for the cake and the shirt, right?

The problem is this kid is into so many things and I have ideas saved if we ever do have those kind of parties:

Airplanes (send boarding passes as invitations)


Source

Cars (race track cake)

Source

Trains (make train tracks out of black tape leading up to the house)
Source

Bugs (make a dirt cake with gummy worms)
Source

Tools (tool belts for the kids)

School Buses (yellow and gray chevron backdrop, vintage buses and books as decor, lunch trays)

Police Cars

Firetrucks

Cookies (a milk and cookies party with vintage glasses for the milk with striped straws)

Construction
(a dirt cake in a toy dump truck)

Source

Circus (vintage circus theme, lots of red/white stripes, tent, etc)

Rockets (make rocket backpacks for the kids)

and, recently, Star Wars. Reid and I did not push Star Wars on him, but Jack has become obsessed with the movies. He loves R2-D2 and Anakin’s spaceships. And lightsabers, duh.

I’m saving an all-out Star Wars party for when he’s a little older. I got plans.

I’m really leaning towards airplanes or trains. He’s getting a train table for his main present (shhhh, don’t tell him!). And we’re going to the airshow that weekend.

Maybe I’ll post pictures of a fake party–all the ideas I would have done for a big party. 🙂

I will admit that I felt guilty, at first, about not having a big party during the year he actually understands birthdays a little more. BUT, after realizing how much we’re doing that week for him, he’s getting a better deal, I think.

the end.

PS: I said I wouldn’t cry this year, but I lied. I’m already getting weepy thinking about this birthday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    March 6, 2012 1:25 pm

    I agree — sounds like a really fun week!!!

Leave a Reply

