Skip to content

Wicked Dream Completed

February 29, 2012
by

Two dreams came true yesterday.

1. Jack pooped in the potty!!!!! I really came close to having tears of joy in my eyes and I’m not kidding! Not only were Reid and I there to celebrate, but both of our moms were here, so we all had a potty celebration right there in the bathroom! And Jack will be getting the massive cupcake today that I’ve been promising him for months.

2. I finally saw Wicked last night.

Let me back track to make you understand how huge this is.

I read the book in 2007 and hated it, but fell in love with the music from the broadway show.

Also, Reid and I saw Phantom of the Opera that fall for our anniversary, back when we spent money on each other (ha!) and I freaked out when I saw Wicked was coming to town.

Fast forward to Fall 2008, we found out were pregnant and due in April and, also, bought tickets to see Wicked in April. Genius.

And, I really thought we were going to get to see it.

Well, due to complications, Jack had to come early and I had new-mom-syndrome and thought it was ridiculous to leave my child that early for the theater, so we sold our tickets.

And I’ve resented Jack ever since. (Only kidding. Kind of.)

I had forgotten that I put a post out there last June shamelessly asking for Wicked tickets for Christmas.

Reid and I had talked about it and I knew we wouldn’t be going.

So, when I opened a Christmas gift of Wicked tickets from my in-laws, there was a lot of crying.

All this to help you understand, which most of you already know and are sick of hearing about it, this was a long time coming.

The tickets were meant for my mother-in-law and myself. I knew my mom wanted to go, too, so I talked her into buying a ticket right next to us and coming up for the event.

We all went out to eat at O’Charley’s last night before the show, then Reid and Jack went home, while we headed downtown.

I hate driving downtown. And I didn’t really know where I was going to park. And it was crazy crowded because there was a basketball tournament going on.

So, while we’re driving around and I keep getting stuck in places I can’t park, I really thought we were going to miss the opening and that was NOT ok.

We finally parked and ran as fast as our cute, but not comfortable, shoes would carry us. We made it with time to spare.

It took me a bit to calm down and relax after that parking and running extravaganza.

But then, the music started and seriously, people, I’m already crying. Just hearing it live and realizing this is really happening set in.

I think I had a smile on my face the entire first act.

I really shouldn’t even mention this, but it was part of my experience. Someone sitting two rows down from us got nachos with peppers and popcorn half way through the beginning, so the smell was so strong in that area. Where are we again??? And she kept checking her FB so the whole area would light up.

Ok, you’re at Wicked. Whatever’s going on on Facebook is surely not as great as this or can wait. Right!?? Pet peeve.

This was right after it was over and I had been crying and my mind was blown:

It was magical and I’m not just throwing that word around. It was absolutely one of my favorite experiences.

Many, many thanks to Sally and my mom for making my dreams come true.

So, enough Wicked talk. I vow to stop talking about Wicked on this blog. Unless someone gives me free tickets to this weekend’s show and I want to brag about it. Boom!

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 10:34 pm

    Yeah – I’m SOO happy to hear about Jack pooping. What a victory!! 🙂 Glad you had fun at Wicked – not gonna lie, I’m a little jealous!

Leave a Reply

