Skip to content

Day 4

January 30, 2012
by

To know me is to know that I love coffee.

Like love with deep affection, can’t live my life without you, let’s get married kind of love.

But, before I get into why, I have to tell you….

I’m on day FOUR of no coffee!

Friday, the first day, was a blur. I was grouchy, tired, and had a headache until I went to bed. I slept for 13 hours that night. Talk about putting my body into detox!

Saturday was better. Sunday was even better. And today, I think the detox period is over and I feel great.

I don’t have this hangover feeling of needing coffee desperately to function. In a way, I feel clear. Not sure how to even explain that.

Ok, so why do this?

There are arguments both ways about coffee being good for you and coffee will destroy your health. Just Google coffee.

There are pros and cons to drinking coffee and my final conclusion would be everything in moderation.

However, in my case, I hated the feeling that I can’t live without it and I really feel physically horrible until I have it. It’s my addiction and I wasn’t comfortable with it.

I’ve been in a major overhaul of what I eat since last Fall, realizing how certain foods directly affect how I feel emotionally and physically.

Wednesday, before and during the circus, I ate like crazy–lasagna (full of eggs, cheese, and meat–all of which I’m trying not to eat anymore), sweet tea, amazing mango-key lime pie, popcorn, candy, and Coke.

Thursday was a haze. I was tired, grumpy, felt sick, and kept eating the lasagna because I was too tired to have willpower. I was guzzling coffee, hating feeling this way.

I read this article by Linda Wagner (click here) about getting off coffee and I knew I needed to try it, at least for a little bit, to see how my body would respond.


Instead of coffee, I’ve been drinking warm water with fresh squeezed lemon juice. It’s a far cry from coffee, but it’s something to put in my coffee mug and keep me warm, but it’s also good for digestion, energy, and blood pressure. (One

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 12:52 pm

    WHOO HOO! I am on day 11 and feel great!! 🙂 We can do this!

  2. amymezzell permalink
    January 30, 2012 1:18 pm

    that is awesome! i am proud of you! i feel off the wagon big time about trying to eat better. once things get settled for me, i seriously need to try again. i had cut out lots of meat and tried to eat lots more organic things/less processed stuff, but like i said, it faded away. maybe soon i can get back!

Leave a Reply

