Skip to content

Peeing for Suckers

January 18, 2012
by

Classy title, eh?

Yesterday was not our best potty training day. After peeing through FIVE pairs of pants and underwear (and socks and slippers and carpet) yesterday morning before noon, I thought I was going to lose it. (Jack did the peeing, not me. I feel the need to clarify.)

I tried so hard to relax and be calm with Jack, like all the books/articles say. Don’t encourage the behavior with negativity, don’t harm their self-worth and give them a complex about the potty. Blah blah blah.

But, I kind of lost it. It wasn’t pretty and I’m not proud. And I apologized and we hugged it out.

But, I told him he’d lost the privilege of pants for the day.

Today, he got no pants or underwear after pooping in his pants and blaming the wet carpet on the cat.

Notice his white booty in the air. (He was a little bored, so we made a ramp for his cars from a box in the garage.)

It took a little bit, but I realized a missing factor.

There were no treats.

We had Skittles, but they fell on the floor and got gross after Jack grabbed them all.

But Skittles aren’t really his favorite.

The trick? Suckers.

Apparently, this kid will only pee in the toilet if he gets a sucker afterward.

He even used the bathroom at Walgreens today when I told him we were buying suckers.

All this time, and all this wet underwear, and he just wanted suckers?

Now, if only he’ll poop in the potty. I’ve been bribing with all I’ve got- new cars, cupcakes, cookies, wine, anything. And nothing. I wish someone would promise me dessert anytime I pooped, ha!

As long as he gets the hang of that before June, when we go to DisneyWorld, then, I’ll be okay.

Until then, we will be buying a year’s worth supply of suckers.

**Oh, and should I mention how I never wanted to reward my child with food? I’m still not thrilled about it, but I’d rather reward with food than deal with wet clothes.

PS: A certain unnamed friend and I were talking potty woes this past weekend and laughed about the crazy things we never thought we’d say or do to get our kids to use the potty. For example, she gave herself a treat in front of her child after she pooped in the potty because she did such a good job and so her son would be inclined to go. And she, also, congratulated her husband for pooping and told him how proud she was of him, in front of her son, so he’d realize it’s a good thing.

That’s something they don’t talk about in pre-marital counseling, ha!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 2:27 pm

    🙂 Yeah Jack – hope he poops soon, for ya’lls sake. Love ya friend!!

  2. January 19, 2012 9:16 pm

    great pics to keep for when he’s older. oh yea, he’s gonna love those:0

  3. beth permalink
    January 21, 2012 4:31 pm

    Maddy always follows me in the bathroom and says, “Mom, did you go?” Its an on going process! Maddy was accident free for a week and then had two accidents in two days! I actually did take up discipline a few times, and it really helped!

Leave a Reply

