Skip to content

Cooking with Jack and Spray Paint

January 2, 2012
by

We’re not big into New Year’s Eve, so we don’t make big plans. Plus, coming home around 1 or 2am when your child wakes up around 6am is not my idea of fun.

Reid spent most of New Year’s Eve in bed due to a migrane. After realizing how wild Jack was getting, I knew Jack and I needed to get out of the house.

So, we went to the library for a while and then hit up Publix.

After Jack’s nap, we “made” cookies. (Hey, they were on sale, don’t judge me for using cookie dough and not making from scratch.)

And what kind of mother would I be to deny my son the joy of raw cookie dough?

Jack was in bed by 7:30 and Reid woke up later and we watched tv in bed and he read a book. Like I said, we’re not real into New Year’s Eve.

The next morning, Reid slept in and Jack and I made green monsters. The exact opposite of the cookies we made the night before.

Kale was on sale for $1 for a huge bag, so I decided to try it again.
Last time I made one, about two years ago,
I used spinach, so this was my first kale experience.

I mixed soy milk, kale, 1/2 a banana, and 1/2 an apple (chopped).

I made Jack do the first taste test, ha! He said it was yummy and I trusted him. He was right. He wanted more and since this was my breakfast, I made another one for him. I added blueberries to his.

I drank a few more sips of mine and realized there’s no way I could finish it without gagging. It tasted good, but something about it wasn’t quite right.

So, I dumped it back into the blender and added some frozen mixed berries.

Berries are the trick; it was so much better.

____
Since all the pictures from this post are in my kitchen, I’ll show you my project from this past weekend- spay painted letters.

I knew I wanted to use the cardboard letters from Hobby Lobby to spell out “EAT,” but I was originally going to use floral fabric to cover them.

Last minute, as in standing in line at Hobby Lobby and ran back, I grabbed stainless steel spray paint. I love having my floral salt and pepper shakers on the stove, along with my floral spoon rest, so adding more floral might be overkill.

The end result:

Not the best picture, but you get the idea. It’s taken me a little bit to get decide that I like them. I think I like them.

the end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

