Skip to content

The Christmas Feeling

November 27, 2011
by

Last year, I had a really hard time getting into the Christmas mood.

That’s never been a problem before; there must have been something wrong with me.

I didn’t even decorate for Christmas last year. Reid did everything while I was at work one day because I wasn’t interested.

This year, I’m making up for it. I’m extremely giddy and ready for the season!

We set up our tree yesterday morning.

It was so fun to open the storage boxes and realize there were some surprises–ornaments we bought on clearance after Christmas last year that we’d forgotten about.

Jack was really into getting everything out and wanting to put everything on the tree.

Reid and I were laughing about how it took us five years to get the tree we wanted as far as the right decor goes. Our first tree was full of a random assortment of ornaments we had from growing up — The Simpsons, Snoopy, Barbie, High heels, etc. Of course, it didn’t matter because it was our first Christmas together and our first tree.

But now, we’re a little more selective over what goes on the tree. Or at least, I am. And if I had my way, we’d have a country Christmas. Reid’s not a fan and says he didn’t marry this side of me.

Country with a side of glitter.

I’m determined to buy a small (fake) tree after Christmas to save for Jack’s room next year. Somehow, we’ve ended up with lots of airplane and train ornaments. And I think the ornament we’ll buy him this year is a vintage fire engine. He needs his own tree.

I really want to decorate the entire house for Christmas. I have some ideas for the mantel, but they require more money than I need to spend on it, so we’ll just build on it each year. I do plan to hit up the Dollar Tree for lots of ornaments to place all over the house.

In my eagerness to decorate for Christmas, I had the itch to make something last night.

I’ve seen quite a few pillows with triangle trees on them. I wasn’t feeling the pillow vibe, so I made this to frame.

I need to iron over it again and pull it tighter. In hindsight, I probably would have decoupaged this on a huge canvas. But I like it framed and I was working with whatever I had on hand.

It’s on our mantle for now.

I can’t wait to come up with some other things to put around the house – a polka dot garland, especially.

Until then, I’m working on our December calendar of all the fun things we don’t want to miss, starting with the tree lighting in our town tomorrow night.

We really didn’t do much last year and regretted it. Not going to happen again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. michael koronka permalink
    December 5, 2011 12:30 am

    I’m having a hard time getting into christmas this year So I was on the internet looking for things to get me in the spirit. came up on your blog and saw I feel how you felt last year. I have family depending on me to get the house ready for christmas and they also want me to be happy.reading your blog help a lot. Thank you And merry christmas

    • December 5, 2011 7:07 am

      Michael, I’m so sorry you’re going through that right now. It’s a strange place to be- to feel that you have to feel a certain way, but those feelings just don’t come. I, eventually, came around very slowly last year, to a degree. I hope it gets better for you as the season continues. And if not this year, maybe next year you’ll be bursting with Christmas spirit. I think we hype ourselves up for Christmas all year and think it has to be this big thing, and sometimes it’s not. And that’s ok. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

