Skip to content

Recent Projects

October 2, 2011
by

I can’t not post this picture from this morning. We were on the way out the door for Bible study and Jack grabbed his hat and glasses.

Ok, now, on to projects…

I was going to wait to post this til I knew Meredith got it in the mail, but oh well. 🙂 A few people have contacted me about making baby gowns for them. This was my first real order and it’s my favorite:

I’m working on this set for twin girls:

I’m hoping to build up enough samples to start an Etsy shop, but it’s slow going.

I made this neck pillow for Jack, but then, realized I don’t have any stuffing for it. So, just imagine 🙂

I, also, made Jack’s first outfit for his fall custom clothing line, ha!

I must give credit, though–I first saw this outfit on Jill’s blog, Two Gray Pumpkins, and knew I needed to make it for Jack. I found the madras plaid fabric at Thimbles.

I use The Basic Pant Tutorial from DanaMadeIt.com for Jack’s pants; it includes a free printable pattern. I love the flair/wide leg on him.

There’s, also, a tutorial on her site for lining the pants. I didn’t line these, though.

It was really cold this morning, so I put a pair of thermal pj pants under Jack’s pants and done! The pants are so baggy, you don’t notice and Jack stays warm.

This was my first applique to use my sewing machine instead of hand stitching.

I, also, made Jack’s guitar pants, but I haven’t finished the shirt just yet…

Here are more pictures from our day. Today, Reid worked in the backyard, mainly cleaning out and around the shed. Jack followed him, played with a stick, and bubbles, and killed a worm, while I worked on a gown.

My view:

Hanging on my leg:

He even touched the worm! SO GROSS!

I just realized he’s not looking at the camera for any of these pictures. He was too busy playing.

the end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 9:13 pm

    Hey Ashley,
    I’m not sure if you remember me but I came in the kids store you work at in BHam. I am from Mobile and used to go to POMH. I love the gowns! Did you hand stitch them? I LOVE Jill’s blog and I’ve done a few hand stitched things myself! So so cute! Your little Jack is precious!

    • October 4, 2011 5:39 pm

      I do remember! Thanks so much! They are hand stitched. 🙂

  2. October 3, 2011 7:30 am

    I LOVE it Ashley!!! I’m so excited to get it in the mail!! 🙂 Its so cute I’ll be hanging it outside of Owen’s closet on the wall 🙂 Thank you!

  3. cammie permalink
    October 3, 2011 2:59 pm

    Can you make a gown for K and C? 🙂 I know it wouldn’t fit them now but how sweet would it be to pretend they wore it. I LOVE THEM!!!!

    • October 4, 2011 5:40 pm

      Do you really want ones? I can use their names for my samples, ha!

Leave a Reply

