Skip to content

Clothes, Fabric, and Cars

October 1, 2011
by

That would describe our weekend.

Jack and I went to a nearby consignment sale yesterday morning.

We spent $10 for four shirts:

The motorcycle shirt is his favorite.

On my way to work, I stopped by Thimbles, a fabric shop, looking for a certain fabric I haven’t been able to find and they had it. Something about this shop is so serene. It makes me wish they had a big fluffy chair that I could sit in, drink coffee, read a book, and occasionally glance up at the fabric and sigh.

Alabama fabrics:

Reid has been working hard this week on researching and gathering tools needed to replace both of our brake pads (and the rotors for my car). Today, he finally had time to work on my car. He’s planning on doing his tomorrow.

Jack and I went to a children’s clothing store because I heard they had fabric on sale for $2 a YARD.

They had 4 different style for boys, but lots more for girls:

Jack lounged on the bean bags and watched Charlie Brown and the Great Pumpkin while I looked around.

I’ve looked into making him a huge bean bag, but I may buy one instead. That’d be a good Santa present.

Anyways, I bought 2 yards of Painted Rockets fabric:

It’s normally $8-$10 a yard, depending where you look online, plus shipping, so this was a GREAT deal! I only need 1/2 a yard for pants for Jack, but I wanted extra fabric just in case other projects came up.

The weather was extremely nice today, so we left the doors open while Reid worked on my car in the garage and Jack was back and forth from the yard to the garage, and I sewed in the dining room.

Speaking of projects, I FINALLY put this patch on a shirt for Jack this week:

I made the applique in August 2010 and was saving it for who knows what; it was time to use it!

The shirt is now soaking with stain remover in the laundry room because of a banana wiping incident.

I have a lot of fabrics that I want to make pants out of for Jack this fall/winter:

But, he also needs some others that I consider basics, like brown gingham, red gingham, brown cords, etc.

So, some of these might get saved for next fall or summer because how many pairs of pants does he really need? It’s hard to stop making pants and not use them all in one season because sometimes you find it so cheap ($2 for a pair of pants!?) and there are always new, cute fabrics for the next season.

Tomorrow, I’ll post pictures of my projects from this weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

