Skip to content

Attitude Adjustment

August 14, 2011
by

When we set the date for our beach vacation, which is ALMOST HERE, I immediately came up with this crazy weight loss goal for the trip, followed by this intense plan.

I started off insane. But, with life and trying to let my foot heal and blahness, it’s been up and down.

All in all, I did lose weight. Not the lofty amount I was reaching for, but still, weight lost.

My whole thought in wanting to lose more weight was thinking about our last beach vacation, which was the Summer of 2009 with Reid’s family, just a few months after having Jack. I was so uncomfortable with my body; it dictated how I felt most of the trip.

I didn’t want that to be the case this year. I wanted to just feel comfortable on the beach, with no worries.

But, just because I didn’t reach my goal doesn’t mean I can’t feel comfortable. I don’t want that part of my life to dictate how this trip goes; to hinder me from playing with Jack on the beach.

So, before we get ready for this trip, I’m making sure my mindset is right so I don’t spoil either of the boys’ fun.

Jack doesn’t care what I look like in a bathing suit and I can’t just explain to him that Mommy feels fat today, so I’m going to sit here and pout, when I know he’s going to want both Reid and I to play in the sand and water with him.

Also, we’ll be at the beach, just the three of us! Why would I worry about my weight at a time like that?

And, I can be proud that since that beach trip of 2009, I’ve lost almost 30 pounds. So, take that baby weight. (And by baby weight, I mean all the Doritos, Zaxby’s, candy, cake, and Dr. Pepper I had while I was pregnant…)

PS: I promise we won’t make Jack sleep in a closet this time!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea L. permalink
    August 15, 2011 12:52 pm

    1. Confession- I read your blog all the time 🙂
    2. Every time I see pictures of you I think, “Wow, she looks REALLY good.” …so go strut your stuff at the beach!

    • August 16, 2011 8:15 am

      1. Comment of the day.
      2. This totally made my day!
      3. Thank you. I’ll strut my stuff and think of you. In a non-creepy way.

  2. Cammie permalink
    August 15, 2011 2:38 pm

    You look amazing! Enjoy your vacation with just your little family!!!!

  3. Nana permalink
    August 15, 2011 9:26 pm

    Look at that sweet baby! My, he has grown up. It is hard to remember him being so little. I hope ya’ll have lots of “fun in the sun” !!!

Trackbacks

  1. Comin’ Atchya « ashley davis { blog }

Leave a Reply

