Skip to content

Getting It Together

August 8, 2011
by

I lied. I said I’d post an anniversary post this weekend, but it’s not finished. And I’m not in the mood right now. It can wait. It’s not even about Reid; it’s about his family, ha!

Saturday, I took a trip to Atlanta with my mother-in-law to meet up with Cammie, Kilee, and Cammie’s mother-in-law and sister-in-law. Kilee’s birthday is today and we were celebrating a little early by taking a trip to the American Doll Store.

I’m not done editing all the pictures, here are a few.

We ate lunch at the cafe. The dolls get their own special seats and coffee.

The dolls also got their hair did.

All throughout the store there are scenes set up of the girls doing things like yoga, rollerblading, guitar playing, etc. Please tell me what is going on here:

First of all, do people still wear this kind of head gear? And if it’s a slumber party, why is her friend in bed eating a fancy breakfast in her panties?

Kilee’s six today! I still remember her as the almost three year old at Disney:

But this is now

One day I’ll finish editing the pictures and have them ready. But not today.

I’m so glad I got to go on this little adventure. It was kinda funny being in “girl world” because I’m used to cars and trains. I know I said I wanted a girl a long time ago, but I’m not sure that’s the case anymore. All this doll business was so foreign to me! Do you know how many Matchbox cars I could buy Jack with the same amount you’d spend on an American Doll!?

I’m glad I can live vicariously through my nieces and enter girl world every once in a while. 🙂

While I was in Atlanta, Reid met up with my parents and brought Jack home. I’m so glad he’s home. It’s not the same without him.

I’m working a teeny bit more this week than usual, so I took advantage of my off time yesterday. One week I’ll be super organized with food and grocery shopping, then the next three weeks, it’ll be chaos.

Yesterday, I made the choice to just get it all over with in one day, knowing I’d thank myself for it later.

I made the menu first, then the longest list ever, then the shopping trips by what was on sale. I went to Publix, Target, and two Wal-Marts (b/c I needed a lot of something the other was out of).

And I even did something I always think about doing, but never do– made meals ahead of time. I have 2.5 meals in the freezer, ready to be cooked. And most of the other meals this week are crock pot meals.

____
Speaking of birthdays, it’s also my Dad’s birthday!

Happy Birthday, Dad! Love you!

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 12:34 pm

    This post made me laugh!! I hear ya on the girl thing. Girls are expensive! Oh, and what a treat you got with being Jack-free for a week. What?! I couldn’t even imagine…I can only dream of that one day!! 🙂

  2. cammie permalink
    August 8, 2011 3:06 pm

    Thanks for the sneak peek but that just left me wanting more, more, more!!!!

Leave a Reply

