Skip to content

Weekend Update

July 31, 2011
by

I had to work yesterday. Working Saturdays isn’t my favorite thing, but it’s not that bad because I usually have the same Saturday schedule as this girl:

Laura gets me through the day. She’s a senior in high school and has a whole different language. She keeps me young. Ok, not really. She makes me feel very old.

Reid spent most of Friday taking out the old faucet and installing the new one, since I broke the other one last Thursday.

We’ve started attending a Bible study on Sunday mornings at a friend’s house. Last week, I helped take care of the kiddos. There’s not too many of us, but we do have a few kids, ha!

We’re starting in Genesis. Today was my first time to sit and listen; it was very refreshing and challenging. That sounds bad; it’s challenging in a way of stretching my mind and making me shift things I’ve always thought in regards to the creation story. We have a potluck lunch together after the study time. It’s such a good time of community–which is something we’ve been missing.

It’s only been two weeks, but it’s helped stretch me a bit in the cooking department, trying new recipes.

Last week, I made my mother-in-law’s green bean bundles. They’re one of Reid’s favorites and in 5 years, this was my first time to make them. Very easy to do and it looks impressive, til everyone realizes how easy it is to make, ha! I’m not too shy to boast that they were amazing. I think I could eat a whole pan of them. (I’ll post the recipe this week because you need to make these and impress your friends, too!)

This week, I made The Pioneer Woman’s Best Baked Beans Ever. Well, it’s actually Pam Anderson’s recipe, but it’s on PW’s site.

I even busted out my cast iron skillet that my brother seasoned for me a long time ago. I’m a little ashamed, but this was my first time to use it.

The beans were good; not too impressive. I’m not huge on baked beans, I guess.

Anyways, the rest of the women contributing food are incredible cooks! The food has been amazing. I might get fat from this Bible Study. 🙂

Jack was grumpy-grumperson afterward. He fell asleep on the way home, which magically makes him not want to nap when we get home. So tragic.

So, I made Reid take a couple of pictures instead since I actually showered this morning.


Lifting him like that was easier when he was smaller; I was scared I’d drop him!

We can’t walk outside for even a minute without playing with the mini-sandbox.

Then, we all lounged in the living room for a while.

Jack was in bed by 6PM. He was so cranky and unreasonable.

I do need to document that Jack has added a few new words to his vocabulary this weekend!!! He’s been playing more with his Leapfrog Laptop. While playing with it, he’s said “fish,” “monkey,” and “dinosaur.” Who needs speech therapy when you have electronic toys to teach your child!? (I’m halfway kidding.)

the end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

