Skip to content

Weekend Pictures

July 5, 2011
by

The long weekend is over and I’m having a hard time figuring out what day it is.

Reid hurt his back Saturday morning. It was really bad! He’s slowly getting better.

Jack and I played outside while Reid went to back to bed to recover.

The miniature sandbox was a hit. He played and played, but I eventually got too hot, so I had to drag him inside. The box says it’s for indoor or outdoor play; apparently, they don’t have children because this will be for outside only.

Since Jack got up at 5:30 that morning and I knew Reid needed sleep, Jack and I got out of the house for a bit. Jack’s just so loud, it’s hard for anyone to sleep good when he’s awake, ha!

I sometimes complain about where we live as far as convenience goes; living across from the Galleria when we first married really spoiled me. You’d think we live far out, but we really don’t. BUT, this part of town has amazing thrift and consignment stores and lots of them.

My once gym that went out of business turned into a massive furniture/antique consignment store. I went there Saturday, just to look around, but also keep an eye open for a bed for Jack.

This was on sale for $50. I wonder if it’s legit and how it ended up in Alabama.

As much as I want an iron bed for Jack’s room, this may look better since it’d match his furniture:

I love the look of this one:

These bunk beds are incredible:

I had a craving for these bread pockets that I haven’t made in a long time, so I made them for lunch and ate waaaay too much.

Jack ate the meat mixture for dinner! I guess I need to put velveeta on all his food and he’ll eat it.

Jack got a coloring book and crayons from Publix. He was so cute coloring!

On Sunday, I made frozen chocolate mousse. I really don’t make desserts very often, so I wore my apron for this special occasion.

I wasn’t sure if I liked the recipe or not. I altered it and added more chocolate and cool whip.

BUT, after freezing it and having two helpings of it yesterday, I decided I like it. 🙂

The recipe can be found here.

For the 4th of July, we went to Reid’s parents’ house and let Jack run wild. The plan was for him to swim in their baby pool, but it was rainy.

That evening, we went to the Tuscaloosa Amphitheatre to hear the Tuscaloosa Symphony and see fireworks.

Jack and his papa:

This was just on the bus over there, before anything even started! Such a sleepy boy!

Before we even got in the gate, I knew I wanted my picture taken with this man.

Then, I made Jack do it, too. He was too busy staring at his costume to look at the camera.

Part of our view, before most people got there:

Once the music started, Jack clapped along

Part of Jack’s first appointment before he starts speech therapy will be a vision test. I think we can rule that test out because his eagle eyes could spot every teeny tiny balloon that floated into the clouds, even when it got dark.

As the show went on, we took turns cuddling with Jack.

He was so good! You just never know how he’ll act, but I was shocked at how good he was and how much he enjoyed it.

Once he got used to the fireworks, he liked those, too.

I wasn’t on edge about keeping Jack out so late with no nap because I was hoping it’d break his 5:30am wake up times.

Well, it did. At least, for today. And I’ll take what I can get. He slept til 8!!!!! It’s a 5th of July miracle!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

the end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nana permalink
    July 5, 2011 10:28 am

    We enjoyed the 4th with ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

