Skip to content

All kinds of projects

June 26, 2011
by

I pulled down my sewing machine this weekend and actually made not one, but TWO skirts!

But, before I show you those, here are some other projects that I didn’t do, ha!

When I was in Daphne earlier this month, my Mom made this GPS case for me!


Very fun and just what I wanted.

Also, in Daphne, I was able to find this yellow striped fabric that I’d been dying for to use in my kitchen! Oh, Happy Day!

My Mom made this, not me. I still need to buy a curtain rod and make the top loop, but I’m still adjusting to the look of it in the kitchen. This picture is TERRIBLE and makes it look gross, but it’s actually really cute. I think.

When I saw a couple of these pouches lying around Samantha’s house, I demanded that she make one for me. Not exactly, but regardless, she made one for me and I think it’s so cute!

This afternoon, I cut up some pieces of fabric from my fabric stash and actually gave glue to my toddler. I’m a little crazy, I guess. He did so great with it and followed directions so well. I was very proud! (Ps: I got the idea from Cluck Cluck Sew.)

I did make this, though. This outfit has been done for a while, but I doubt I ever put a picture of it completed and on the boy.

Now, for the skirts.

I made this one Friday night using this tutorial and guidance from Samantha because I was nervous. So, so easy peasy. I’m not in love with the fabric, but I already had it in my pile and was using it as my guinea pig. I did wear this skirt on Saturday and it was kind of cute.

Here’s the deal on the skirt, though– it’s not very flattering. BUT, I made it and I’m wearing it, so there. Plus, I need more work appropriate outfits since it’s crazy hot in the store.

I made this one last night, using a different tutorial. I knew in the back of my head it’d be too fluffy, but it looked good on her, so I thought I’d give it a try.

The elastic goes all the way around, so it poofs out all the way around. Making me look 20 pounds heavier. Nope, nope, and nope.

So, back to the first tutorial and out came this skirt:

I have all of these fabrics just waiting to be turned into skirt, BUT I need to use another pattern. I was going to make tank dresses out of some of these, but have changed my mind.

All the tutorials without a zipper are going to make me look bigger, which means, I need to bite the bullet and learn how to sew a zipper and make pleats. Pleats seem easy, it’s the inserting a zipper thing that scares me.

I’ll probably use one of the tutorials from Elle apparel.

Oh, and yes, I know it’s hard to tell what the skirts really look like with me not wearing them, but I plan on wearing them this week, so you’ll have to wait til What I Wore Wednesday.

the end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    June 28, 2011 7:09 pm

    The green skirt looked great on you…super cute! I kind of want one now.

  2. Holly permalink
    June 28, 2011 7:10 pm

    Oh, and I thought I heard your mom say that she wanted to make me a GPS case as well….didn’t she? Oh, yes, you heard her too?

  3. Mom permalink
    July 1, 2011 9:17 am

    Oh Ashley, I didn’t know that Holly was starting to hear things.
    tsk, tsk, sigh,,,,

    only kidding Holly. šŸ™‚ Are you as picky about fabric as some other people I know? Although. Ashley is becoming quite the seamstress herself. She could probably make one

Leave a Reply

