Skip to content

Friday Randoms

June 24, 2011
by

Yesterday, after playing in Jack’s room for a while, I thought it was time for a project. I’m really bad about finding cool projects/crafts for us to do, but then, never doing them! I’m trying to break that.

There are plenty of recipes online for DIY finger paint, but most need cornstarch and I don’t have any. So, I mixed up water, powdered sugar, and food coloring. I had a hard time making it thick, but it turned out good enough. AND it was the easiest clean up EVER! I hate cleaning paint off of brushes, but this was no problem.

Jack loved it. I didn’t even offer it as finger painting, but just regular painting, because he can’t stand to have anything on his hands. I did put my hands in it and he did it, too, but then quickly needed me to wash his hands.

So, I find that Jack has outfits that I love, but I try to save them for something special. That makes no sense, so I’m getting rid of that mindset and put this on him today for his haircut and grocery shopping. Really and truly, what special events do 2 year olds have? He grows so fast and one day it won’t fit him and I’ll be sad he never wore it. PS: I bought it around Christmas time at a consignment shop, Then Again, for less than $10!

Today, I took Jack for his 2nd haircut. He was so bald as a baby, it’s strange that he would need another haircut since he got one in March.

His before:

And after:

I had to sit in the chair and let him sit facing me. He did really good, once we got settled.

At Publix, Jack had his usual- sprinkle cookie. Then, while we were glancing around the produce, a woman that works there asked if Jack would like grapes and then she brought us some!

And that’s why I LOVE Publix.

I bought me and Reid a treat since it was on sale.

I’m tempted to order a whole (small) cake for our anniversary since it was our wedding cake and we’re celebrating the big 5 years this August. And really, I love a good excuse to eat cake.

I, also, bought a loaf of french bread so could use the last of our dip mix.

You mix this stuff with olive oil and dip your bread in it. It’s amazing! I’m pretty sure we had this as a meal one time.

And now, I’m making spaghetti for our dinner and I’m about to get ready for work.

the end.

Happy Friday, Everyone!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nana permalink
    June 24, 2011 5:40 pm

    Jack is such an artist!! Love the haircut. He is such a cutie!!

  2. June 26, 2011 3:27 pm

    pssst…I put eli in outfits like that ALL the time even if we are home playing OR going to the grocery store. Nothing wrong with that. Like you said, he will grow out of them if you wait for the “perfect time” to wear it!

Leave a Reply

