Skip to content

Use Your Words

June 22, 2011
by

Besides being laundry day (so exciting), I took Jack to his two-year check up. He turned 2 in March, but I’ve been putting it off because I wanted to wait and see what happened with his speech.

I’d put it off long enough and there have been no changes, so we went today.

After an hour drive there, due to construction traffic, Jack was pretty content in the waiting room. He loved watching the cars go by on the busy street.

And, when all else fails, he likes to take everything out of my wallet, then put it all back in. Extremely annoying, but it keeps him happy.

As soon as we started walking down the hallway, Jack freaked out. Loud screaming! He knows this is the place he gets shots!

I’m not sure we got the correct weight on him because he wouldn’t stop scrambling to get off the scale; the nurse said it was 25 lbs, but I don’t think I saw it get above 23, but whatever. She gets paid to be there, not me. 🙂

It took a lot of “Itsy Bitsy Spider” singing to get him to relax before the doctor came in.

And crayons.

After some small talk with the doctor, he asked if I had any concerns…

“Um, he’s not exactly talking.”

This is one of those things that I’m not completely worried about because I’ve learned Jack does things when he wants- like not crawling til he was 10 months, or walking til he was 18 months. That’s just what he does. But, still, I wanted to make sure nothing’s wrong.

After a series of questions, the doctor suggested getting his hearing tested and a speech pathologist.

They were able to test his hearing at their office before I left, which is great because they thought about sending us to Children’s for this 2 minute test.

His hearing is perfect! I know he hears us and understands us by how well he follows directions, but I’d always wondered. BUT now, we know there’s nothing to worry about! Praise the Lord!

We are getting set up with a speech pathologist that will come to our house and work with Jack one on one. And the good news? It’s paid for by the government.

Poor Jack did have to get shots before we left. I think it gets worse as he gets older; having to pin him down with my entire upper body while he screams in my ear and tears roll down his red face.


Reading up on his vaccines.

The prize of getting shots? A sucker. Not sure that’s a great trade off, but it usually works for that moment.

I think I was so overwhelmed with relief that nothing is wrong with him and guilt for him having to get shots that I was quick to let Jack pick out a new car at Wal-Mart on the way home.

He had 6 of them in the cart with him at one point, but finally settled on a firetruck, even though I wanted him to pick the recycling truck.

I’m glad he loves the Matchbox cars because they make a nice prize and are only $1.11 each! He keeps up with them pretty well, too, so far.

As soon as we got in the car to head home, it POURED!

It was a little scary, but I was determined to go slow and just get home, instead of pulling over and waiting for it to stop.

the end.

**PS: When someone’s child doesn’t talk, please don’t be rude and tell them it’s their fault because “they probably don’t have to talk, you just give them anything they want.” I’m not going to make my child starve because he won’t/can’t ask for his dinner or whatever food he’s wanting. Just sayin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 7:14 am

    are those the flip flops we gave him?

    p.s. i’m glad he’s A-OK!

  2. Jessica H permalink
    June 24, 2011 10:19 am

    My jaw dropped when I read that P.S. – do you want me to punch that person? I’m not scared – I’m scrappy! Also, so glad to hear the good news!

Leave a Reply

