Skip to content

Because I don’t want to forget.

June 13, 2011
by

Dear Jack,

You’re a little over two years old now. I know I’ll forget one day what you were like at this age, so I thought I’d document some of it for you (and myself, mainly).

First of all, you’re the cutest little thing I’ve ever seen. I just want to kiss and cuddle all day long, but you’ve got better things to do with your time. Like cuddle with Daddy. When he’s around, you don’t really care for me. It hurts my feeling a little bit, considering I’m the one that supplies the cookies and granola bars, but I know once he’s not home, you like me again.

You have spoiled me greatly! I’m not a morning person, as you are well aware; thankfully, you’re pretty content to eat breakfast and watch a movie in bed with me while I sleep just a little longer. Not every day, but some.

You love to wear shoes; you may have 3-4 shoe changes within one morning, or you may stick with your trusty rain boots.

Your favorite things to do are chase and hit Chewy, dig in the kitchen cabinets, play the alphabet game online, splash bath water all over the bathroom, eat cookies, watch birds (I’m not kidding!), play with legos, go down the slide, crawl through tunnels at the park. I’d say you like to color and play with play-doh, but you go up and down with those.

More than any of these, you love playing hide and seek in the house and being scared when we jump out at you. Your scream is so loud and high pitched, like a little girl, ha! It hurts my ears sometimes!

You, also, love being outside. We have to be careful saying “go” and “outside” around you because you get overly excited and are ready to leave the house as soon as we say the word. You love to be on the go.

You’re not a fan of other kids your age. If they’re smaller or bigger than you, you like them, but man, if a kid your age looks at you funny, you’re ready to slap them. And you have. And got in trouble for it.

You’ve developed this fake laugh whenever Daddy and I are laughing at something, which makes us laugh even more.

You talk all the time, but we don’t understand you. You can be so serious when talking to us, but we have no clue what you’re saying, which we hate! We wish we knew exactly what you were thinking about! You respond to everything with “Ok”, even if you don’t mean it.

You rarely say words we know, except for “cookie” and “go”. Every once in a while, you’ll repeat a word out of nowhere and we’re shocked. But you’ll never say it again.

You’ve got an attitude and end up in time out at least once a day, but you’re getting better. You’re a little sneaker in time out, slowly making your way sideways out of it when you think we’re not looking. I correct you, but then hide my face because I’m laughing at you.

Most days you are squeals and laughter. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you’re the perfect fit for our family. We love you so much!

Love,
Mama

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 8:05 am

    yea, jack! i want to hang soon! call me!

  2. Mimi permalink
    June 14, 2011 9:26 am

    Oh, how I love this little boy! Thanks for sharing & bringing a smile to my day 🙂

  3. Nana permalink
    June 15, 2011 9:10 pm

    Ashley…that is such a sweet letter to such sweet little boy. You are a wonderful mommy and one day he will read this letter and see that love overflowing for him as a child.

Leave a Reply

