Skip to content

Latest Project: Apron for Chef Jack

May 15, 2011
by

A boy can only need so many pairs of shorts for one summer. Plus, I’m a little tired of making shorts. (But, it is so addicting because when you can make them for less than $4, it’s like hey, why not! Especially, when I keep finding cute fabric.)

So…I decided I needed another project.

Jack messed up his apron that he got for Christmas; it came in a dress up kit. I’ve been eyeing cute aprons for him on etsy. What’s a little chef without an apron?

I found the fabric I liked and decided to try my hand at it. No pattern, yo. I just copied his other apron, then freestyled it.

I’m kinda in love with it. I have a thing for aprons anyway, whether I wear them frequently or not.

Imagine the buttons are actually in the apron; I’ve watched a few youtube videos on how to do a buttonhole, but it’s kind of scary. Also, many thanks to Samantha on the pockets– if I’d never watched her do one, I wouldn’t have a clue what to do. Oh, and to my mom who mentioned a while back to keep the needle in the fabric when I did turns.

It still needs buttonholes, strap for the sides, and a monogram (I’m thinking “Jack” or “Chef Jack” in green).

For less than $5, I’m very pleased. If you want one, I’ll charge $40, thankyouverymuch. Juuuust kidding. But really, our kids gotta eat.

Now that I’m getting cocky with the sewing, I’m ready to try my hand at some other things:

1. GPS case
I never keep it in the car, in fear of thievery b/c I’m paranoid like that, and I need something so it won’t get scratched in my purse.

I’m thinking something along these lines:


(Source: The Pleated Poppy)

2. I LOVE dresses and really think this could be possible to make:


(Source: TheShabbyApple)

I know I’ve seen a few tutorials online on how to replicate Anthropologie dresses; it might be worth looking into.

3. How cute is this!? It looks a lot trickier than the others, but I’ve got til the fall to get it right.

(Source: AdriApparell’s Etsy Shop)

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 7:56 pm

    So cute! 🙂 I love sewing!

  2. May 16, 2011 7:37 pm

    Apron looks amazing!!!! You did such a great job!!!

Leave a Reply

