Skip to content

May 4, 2011
by

I feel silly writing anything on here lately considering what’s going on in neighboring communities from last week’s tornadoes. Fox6 seems to have constant coverage during the day and evenings on individual stories, etc. I noticed today is the first day I haven’t watched much of it; it’s hard to look away most days.

It’s so strange that my life would continue on like normal when so many families in the area are struggling to find a new normal in their lives as they pick up the remains of their homes or continue to look for loved ones.

I found myself crying in line at the grocery store last week as a grandmother was stocking up on groceries, getting ready for her granddaughter to come stay with her from Tuscaloosa. Her granddaughter had finally found her missing boyfriend, who was now dead.

There have been women coming to buy clothes where I work that know families with children (one that’s 4 weeks old) that have lost their entire house and are now living in a hotel. Can you imagine going through this experience with a 4 week old?

I’d really love to be out helping clean up, passing out supplies, and talking with people, but having a 2 year old makes it a little more difficult. And with working on Saturdays lately, I know it’ll be a couple weekends before I’ll actually get the opportunity.

But I know that there will be months of clean up and opportunities for me to help. As someone said, this isn’t a sprint to clean up, but a marathon.

While I wait to get out there, I’m able to gather supplies and donate. Thanks to couponing, I have a nice stockpile of toiletries that others need more than we do.

There are so many opportunities to help, whether it’s giving financially (which you can’t go many places that aren’t giving you that chance, even the grocery stores, boutiques, etc) or giving supplies, toys, clothes, etc. I even saw the Boy Scouts, who had cancelled their camping trip, out on Saturday on the side of the road collecting items.

There are a lot of videos going around from the storms. Reid showed me this one last night. It’s long, but the main parts are the middle and the end, when they drive back to the streets they had just been on a few minutes before the storm hit. Oh, and it has a lot of cussing, so mute it if you want. James Spann caught a lot of flack for posting this because of that.

the end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 1:53 pm

    oh wow that video is crazy!

  2. sheena permalink
    May 4, 2011 8:11 pm

    i cried in the grocery store today too.

  3. Nana permalink
    May 4, 2011 10:05 pm

    I am shaking after watching that. That is sooo scary and just to think of the aftermath that monster left behind. Oh, my!!!

Leave a Reply

