Skip to content

Look what I can do!

April 3, 2011
by

After 3 and a half hours, lots of patience from Samantha, and a little bit of chocolate cake, I made my first pair of shorts!

Very exciting! And addicting! Must.buy.more.fabric! But first, must learn to thread the beast of a sewing machine I’m borrowing from Reid’s mom, ha!

If you think this post is braggy, then you must not realize how HELPLESS I was making these shorts. I couldn’t pin anything or iron anything without Samantha’s step by step instruction, and even then, I messed up a few things. It just proves with the right teacher, you can do anything.

Plus, I think I’m more proud because I come from a long line of sewers, not that this makes me one, but maybe I can start inching my way towards living up to that legacy, ha!

______
In other news, I’m halfway concerned about Jack. Homeboy has been sleeping like he’s trying to store it in bottles. He’s exhausted and dying to go to bed by 6, gets in bed at 6:30, sleeps til 7:30 or 8, then naps for FOUR hours. Only to be tired again around 5 or 6.

I’m not complaining because it’s a nice break, but I feel like we barely see him during the day; we’re just waiting on him to wake up so we can run errands.

I’m sure as soon as I hit publish on this post, Jack will wake up five times in the night and take a 30 minute nap tomorrow.

Maybe it’s a growth spurt. Although, he’s back on a no eating spree. One week we can’t get enough food in that belly, the next he’s completely compulsed at the idea of food and lets us know it!

I will say, though, that when Jack’s awake (and not pitching a fit) he’s been making us laugh all the time. I love that boy.

And his fits have lessened. I feel like I’m starting to gain a little bit of control back. My secret weapon? Ignoring him. Another mom told me to do it when he spazzes out and it’s so simple and genius. Dur.

Oh, and for the record, Jack’s been leaning towards being a Daddy’s Boy lately and doesn’t seem to like me as much. Not cool.

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 3, 2011 10:23 pm

    OK, tearing up a little, I knew you had it in you and was sure that (hopefully) one day it would come out. There is a long legacy of seamtresses who are proud of you! But, uh oh, does this mean you’ll be raiding my stash??? Seriously, you did a great job! Many thanks to Samantha for her help:)

    And, Jack is probably still coming down from a sugar high from last weekend. He likes cake as much as his Mama!

  2. April 5, 2011 9:10 pm

    Um, please make Breeson an outfit please. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

