Skip to content

Because I haven’t posted a recipe in a while

March 17, 2011
by

I got off from eating healthy when I made those darn oreo balls. How can you not lick the bowl? And then not eat a ton when they’re just staring at you. Then the baby shower came, which meant I felt I deserved some Cheerwine and ate whatever I wanted that weekend. Then, we got sick and I didn’t really eat.

Then, as we got better, we wanted comfort food or just fast food since cooking was out of the question for me.

I still lost weight since I was sick and haven’t eaten much. And when I say we had fast food, I mean that we didn’t eat any other meals, just one meal a day. The main thing for me was I was craving and drinking Dr. Pepper a lot.

All that to say, I’m on a detox. Not a liquid fast kind of detox, but my own version of a detox. A clean and healthy eating detox. I’m following Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet. I’ve done it before and it’s such a great plan because it incorporates protein and LOTS of veggies.

I still get carbs from things like black beans,etc, but not from breads or rice. I’ve done no carbs before and it’s ugly- I get cranky and tired, but that’s a whole other story for another day.

I tend to lose weight fast on this simply from cutting out sugar and consciously eating more vegetables. And I just feel better all around. BUT I feel the need to say beware! I don’t recomend this for more than two weeks, AND if you don’t follow the South Beach plan after those two weeks (slowly adding back breads/rice/potatoes), you WILL gain that weight (and more!) back. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

All that to say, finding ways to eat more vegetables, even in the morning, is always a good idea.

So, I made these (my mom first turned me on to these, so good):

Mini Crustless Quiche
* Package of frozen spinach
* 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack Cheese (or cheddar)
* 3/4 cup liquid egg substitute OR 3-4 eggs
* Optional – Chopped Onions, peppers, hot sauce, whatever you want

1. Microwave the spinach for 2 1/2 minutes on high. Drain the excess liquid.

2. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with foil baking cups. Spray the cups with cooking spray.

3. Combine the eggs, cheese, and spinach in a bowl. Mix well. Divide evenly among the muffin cups. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

I usually put them in individual bags and refrigerate or freeze them for when I need them. I have to make a lot because Jack LOVES these and how I can I refuse giving him spinach when he’s begging for it? I also take a couple to work to have in the afternoon as a snack.

I feel strange posting about a particular diet, but the South Beach Diet is mainly about finding a balance in the carbs/protein/fats you eat, not exactly a fad type of diet. For more information on the diet click here and for the foods you can eat click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

