Skip to content

Real Life

March 12, 2011
by

**edit:: I didn’t realize how dramatic it sounded when I said I’m coughing up blood. I should clarify that it’s blood mixed in w/ my flem (yum!) that I’m coughing up and it’s sporadic, not all the time. I’m not dying, at least not that I know of.

This week has been full of tears, coughing, fevers, Gatorade, medicine, and lots and lots of snot.

I don’t think it’d be a stretch to say this has been the worst week we’ve had as a married couple. Jack being sick with the croup and who knows what else, Reid having the flu, and me having the flu (or something like it). I was diagnosed with a cold on Monday, but that night, it turned into something else much worse.

It’s such a different dynamic when you’re all that sick. I remember one night we weren’t sure what to do because neither of us could physically drive to get diapers or more Gatorade.

In a wierd, twisted way, it’s almost been helpful that Jack’s been sick alongside us ONLY for the fact that we haven’t had to keep up with him. He’s been just as bad as us, doing his best just to lay on the couch and watch movies. He’s taken 2-3 naps everyday this week.

Since being a mom, anytime I’ve gotten sick I’ve longed for the days when I got sick and my only job was to be sick. I miss my Mom bringing me chicken noodle soup in a coffee mug for me. Or renting movies for me. And I can remember my Dad would bring me a small present when I was sick.

(My parents won’t remember this and will think I’m making it up, but I remember Dad bringing me a new casette tape for my walkman when I sick once. It’s the little things.)

All that to say, though I miss those times, I love being a mom and I hope I take care of Jack that well, too, when he’s sick.

We’re not fully well yet. All of our fevers have returned and the hacking coughs have yet to leave. I’m considering going back to the doctor since I’ve been coughing up blood. Wonder if that means anything.

Until then, Reid’s at the store for Nyquil, Gatorade, and chocolate ice cream.

I stopped for ice cream on my way home from work because that sounds so good, but the freezers were out at that Publix. So, I cried beside the buggies blocking the aisle. Then, my nose started bleeding.

And this has been our week.

The good news is that this upcoming week won’t be nearly as bad as this one has been and we can only get better from here, right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sheena permalink
    March 12, 2011 8:56 pm

    um…i would absolutely go to the doctor if you are coughing up blood and getting random nose bleeds. that’s scary!

  2. Rita permalink
    March 13, 2011 10:42 am

    I must agree — this Mama says “back to the dr. you go” and also mention to him that you all are still running fever. A change is meds may be necessary. Praying for you and wish I were closer so could help out.

Leave a Reply

