Skip to content

Hi, my name is Jack and I’m almost two

January 24, 2011
by

I’m not sure what happened. Maybe Jack got injected a couple weeks ago with the terrible two injection or something, who knows. His energy levels are off the charts.
We’ll be playing in the living room and then all of a sudden he’ll get the urge to do a little jig, spinning around, then falling on the floor to roll around. And then repeat. And repeat.

What is in that sippy cup!?

He doesn’t say too many words, but he sure can act them out. Like “mine.” It’s not verbal, but when we take something away and he ends up kicking and screaming like a wild person, I get the hint that he claimed ownership. What’s yours is mine, and what’s mine is mine.

I thought before that he was all up in my business, but it’s gotten worse. He has to “help” no matter what. It’s very sweet, but I get nothing done. Like sweeping. He steals the broom.

Naptimes have to be strategic. How much can I get done in a two hour period? Folding laundry without someone carrying it off into another room is a luxury, haha!

Jack’s favorite words are cracker and cookie.

Me: “Are you hungry?”
Jack: “Cracker?”
Me: “No, it’s breakfast time.”
Jack: “Cracker.”
Me: “How about a waffle?”
Jack: “Craaaaackeerrrrr!” *trying to pry the pantry open with his tiny fingers*

This is how every morning seems to go in our house.

And every lunchtime, too, now that I think about it.

If no crackers, then he’ll be sure to ask for a cookie.

There’s been some trickery. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but he really doesn’t say too many words, so we forget how much he really understands. I’ve been testing it and asking him to do specific things like find my cell phone and give it back to me. And he does it on the spot. Or bring me your blanket. Or let’s get ready to leave the house.

Makes me realize he really is sponging up everything that’s going on around him and knows more than he lets on.

With the fits and whining and all up in my spaceness, there are more good moments than bad. He’s just gotten louder than I remember.

We’ve kinda teased our niece and nephew about their volume level, but Jack’s catching up.

It seems that Jack’s tranforming into a full-fledged toddler right before our eyes. And it’s scary. And exciting. And tiring. And funny. And tiring.

Speaking of almost being two, it’s time to start planning homeboy’s party! I’m not sure about the theme and details, but we’ll be sure to have plenty of crackers and cookies on his special day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mimi permalink
    January 24, 2011 7:44 pm

    Poor baby, having to earn his keep around there by sweeping!

    and, looks like he’s a climber, like his Mama!
    (good luck with that one)

Leave a Reply

