Skip to content

Crafty Sunday: Children’s Shirts

December 6, 2010
by

I haven’t been in the mood to work on anything crafty in a while, so yesterday, when the mood struck I jumped on it!

Regardless of what you might think, Jack only has a small few Christmas shirts/outfits which really is great, but if I had my way, he’d have a different shirt for everyday for the Christmas season. And though I get a great discount at work, it adds up to get shirts made.

(Working at a children’s clothing shop either makes me want to buy all the cutest clothes in the world for Jack and I have to fight materialism OR it makes me never want to see a small piece of clothing again. Depending on the day. That’s another post for another day, though.)

So, I headed to Joann’s (twice in one day, thankyouverymuch!) and made shirts myself!

I had planned to make 4 or 5 shirts, but once I got home and was looking at everything I realized I was going overboard. They’re cute ideas, but once January 1 hits, it’ll be awkward for him to wear them.

Here were my ideas (all stolen from Etsy because that’s how I roll) (I hope this doesn’t get me in trouble by posting these…):

Thankfully, I can always count on Samantha to be my crafty-grandma-partner-in-crime. So, I went to her (new!) house and we got to work. And by work I mean watching random tv and cutting fabric and drinking hot chocolate.

The first shirt made was this one:

I love this shirt more than I thought I would! Samantha was kind enough to cut out little tiny stars for me because I’m no good at little stuff.

If you love this shirt, you’ll love this deal– you can get it on etsy.com for $5! That includes shipping! Just click here.

I searched Joann’s and Hancock Fabrics high and low yesterday for a piece of red and white striped fabric, but found none. Samantha happened to have enough for both of us to make these shirts:

I got the wrong fabric for the snowman shirt, so that one will have to wait, BUT at least that one can be worn in Jan/Feb! I bought some plaid flannel that I might make another tree shirt out of, but I may just hold onto it. Not sure.

If you want a shirt, just mail/give me a shirt and I’ll make it; I have leftover fabric. 🙂

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cammie permalink
    December 6, 2010 4:12 pm

    Um, hello? I want a shirt? Are you kidding me. You know my sizes. I’ll even pay you $$$. Just send me the bill!

  2. December 8, 2010 11:21 am

    ME ME ME!!!

Leave a Reply

