Skip to content

Extended Family

November 11, 2010
by

Two people I consider my extended family are my friends, Holly and Sarah Kate.

We all knew each other in college, but our relationship became deeper during the summer before my junior year when we started meeting weekly for dinner and prayer. We usually ate dinner at O’Charley’s or mexican, then would find an empty room on campus to talk about how we were doing and pray together.

Proverbs 17:17 says, “A friend loves at all times, but a brother is born for adversity.”

I think this verse holds true when I think about Holly and Sarah. There were painful situations we were all dealing with and we all three agree we couldn’t have made it without each other.

During that year, we ate, laughed, and cried a lot.

There’s really so much I could share, but it would be too much and I really don’t know where to start. I love that I can be myself completely around them and share my struggles with no judgement or blank stares, just encouragement and sometimes a dose of reality.

My favorite memory of me and Holly would be the afternoons when we had an hour before our night class. I just remember laughing a lot. And being threatened to be kicked out of said night class for laughing.

My favorite memory of Sarah Kate is more sentimental (sorry, Holly). When I got my wisdom teeth taken out, I had an allergic reaction to my meds. Reid couldn’t leave me by myself to get new medicine, so Holly and Sarah Kate (and maybe Zeb? I was a little drunk) brought some for me. The last thing I remember is Sarah Kate laying in bed with me reading me a story til I fell asleep.

That memory may be false because, again, I was drugged and in pain, but that’s how I like to remember it.

Enough blabbering! The reason for this post is because Sarah Kate, who know lives in GA, was in town yesterday for a visit.

Between the three of us there are now five kids! Four girls and a boy to be exact.

Sarah and her girls, Lincoln and Millie, came over for lunch yesterday. Then, we all headed to Holly’s to meet Lily Kate. And to see Holly.

Jack, Lincoln, and Millie

Jack and Linc having a snack and watching cartoons

He made himself at home

We went to Wal-Mart to get stuff for dinner and some things Holly needed.
Sarah Kate’s mini-me with my mini-me

Millie was so quiet all day. Even while feeding Jesse.

Sadly, I didn’t get any pics of the three of us, or any of all kids together. And no pictures of the newborn, Lily Kate. (I don’t have baby fever as much as I have PINK fever. 🙂 ) Regardless, I’m glad I got to spend a day with my friends and eat dinner with them, even if Jack was cranky. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 9:07 pm

    Friends like that are the best. It is so awesome when good friends start having babies! ❤

  2. Mom permalink
    November 12, 2010 9:12 pm

    Yes, they are definetly family! It helped when you were at college to know you had such wonderful and loyal friends surrounding you. ( Sarah Kate can come spend another week end with me and I’ll teach her the “secrets” of Red Velvet Cake!)

  3. Maw Maw P permalink
    November 15, 2010 10:23 am

    Awww..Urshley!!! I love you so stinkin’ much. I’m ok with those fun memories you have of us……those days of laughter got me through some of the worst days of my life!!!

Leave a Reply

