Skip to content

Not my Flip Flops!

September 27, 2010
by

To know me is to know I live in flip-flops. It may be raining. There may be snow on the ground. But you better believe, I’ll be wearing flip-flops.

I even wore a $3 pair of white flip-flops to my own wedding. (Which, in hindsight, I should have milked it and gotten fabulous new shoes, but oh well.)

When I was pregnant, my ankles, or cankles, were outta control. So much so, I blamed my swollen feet for having to wear flip-flops all winter, which everyone really knew I’d be wearing them anyway.

I digress.

After a trip to the podiatrist a couple weeks ago and learning I have plantar fasciitis, I was informed that my flip-flop days are over.

Stupid high arched feet. Apparently, the flip-flops helped cause this condition. I’m not shocked; Reid’s been warning me about my flip-flop overuseage since we got married. I was in denial.

But now it hurts to walk and run, so I’m listening.

I’m still wearing my flip flops because I haven’t decided exactly which pair of shoes to invest in yet. But their time is coming.

And it will be a sad day.

And a good day because I’ll have new shoes and that’s never sad.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ryansamantha permalink
    September 27, 2010 10:30 pm

    before you make a decision, try my danskos! wonder workers! maybe i can drop them by on my way to montevallo tomorrow…

  2. September 28, 2010 6:18 am

    I’m in mourning for you.

  3. September 28, 2010 8:26 am

    Have you ever tried Chaco’s? They are great sandals, they come in a Teva style or in a flip flop style (the ones that I have look like nice flip flops) but they have great souls on them and a great arch! I have problems with my arches too, and when I wear these I get instant relief! They are definitely my go to shoe if the weather is anywhere near warm outside. They can be a little expensive, but I found mine at Rodger’s Trading Company (on 280, behind the Logan’s, by iJump) on sale because they were last years colors, and they last so long, I got mine probably 3 years ago and wear them about 200 days out of the year and they still fit like they are brand new. Definitely worth trying on if you love flip flops so much!

Leave a Reply

