Skip to content

Zumbalicious

September 9, 2010
by

Zumba Zumba Zumba.

I’ve heard of it for a couple years, read about it in fitness journals, and watched videos.

“Not for me” has always been my conclusion.

However, after attending a class last night with some friends from college, I have to confess that I am now a Zumba convert.

What is Zumba?

It’s a fusion of Latin and International music – dance themes creating a fun workout. The routines feature aerobic/fitness interval training with a combination of fast and slow rhythms that tone and sculpt the body. Zumba utilizes the principles of fitness interval training and resistance training to maximize caloric output, fat burning and total body toning. It is a mixture of body sculpting movements with easy to follow dance steps.

My review:

Years ago I went to a hip hop aerobics class at the Y with some friends. I left in a horrible mood. My coordination skills are terrible and I gave up because I couldn’t keep up.

Thankfully, I’ve matured a little bit and have accepted my special dance skills. And I’m a lot less self-conscious, too, and that helps.

I say all that to point out that if I can do this, anyone can. I was able to keep up and pick up the dance moves. This is coming from the girl that spent a month learning the box step for a high school musical.

It was great to spend an hour dancing around with my friends and laughing, while breaking a huge sweat and gulping water during breaks.

Some of the moves were familiar to me from past aerobics classes or from P90X, so that made me feel a little less lost.

There were great moves to help with strengthening the core.

Another bonus? I wore my heart rate monitor and my heart rate was pretty elevated most of the time. I burned over 500 calories.

Also, I loved this particular class because it was a mixture of about 60 women that encompassed several races, ages, shapes and sizes. So fun!

Even today, I’ve been thinking how I wish I could go tonight!

Here’s a video from The Fitnessista of one of her Zumba classes so you can see a little of what I’m talking about:

Wanna come with me to the next class? I know you do!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amymezzell permalink
    September 9, 2010 1:31 pm

    Where do you go to take the class?

  2. September 14, 2010 3:37 pm

    Hi, new reader here! I love Zumba. Keep at it, it’s a blast and a good work out;

Leave a Reply

