Skip to content

Adventures in Yard Saling

August 28, 2010
by

I am aware that yard saling is incorrect grammar, and in fact, saling is not a word. But how else do you say it? Can you tell I’m southern?

Everyday this week, Jack’s woken up 15 minutes earlier than he did before. This morning’s time? 5:40. Unacceptable.

Iwas a wierd and sleepy morning.

So, I took Jack with me to some yard sales while Reid caught up on sleep.

Yard sales are addicting to me. I find something at one and think “Hm, let’s go to another because I might find more!”

One yard sale ended up being at an ex-boss’s house; it was a bit awkward when I realized that fact. He introduced me to his new wife and that was awkward, too. As much as I wanted to run away, I had already found an amazing pair of jeans there that I couldn’t leave without. They were Victoria’s Secret brand and my size. And $1.

We met a nice guy at the last sale. He was bored and started talking with us because he has a daughter Jack’s age. Then he tried to sell me his wife’s old breast pump.

When I declined and said something about not needing one for a while, he told me all about his neighbors who got pregnant two months after giving birth. Guess what comes next? He proceeds to tell me how this happens. And it’s all a blur from there because he starts saying words like “cervix” and I start blushing and running for the car.

All in all, it was a successful trip.

1 gold frame (that is begging for spray paint), 1 old cookbook, 1 Old Navy shirt, 1 F21 shirt, and 1 pair of Body by Victoria jeans = $4!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 9:44 pm

    this post made me laugh!!!

Leave a Reply

