Skip to content

A Woman Obsessed

August 18, 2010
by

I go through several hobbies a year. Or a month. I find something I’m interested in and latch on for a bit, til I get bored or tired of it, and move along.

Things like photography, gluten free foods, decorating, cupcakes, etc.

Obviously, right now, it’s making clothes for Jack. Or just adding to shirts already made. I still am yet to crank up The Beast, though.

If you’re like me and just starting out, Pick Up Some Creativity’s blog has a recent series on Sewing 101. The first post is on the essential tools you need.

No lie- just about a month ago I had to email Samantha to borrow a needle and thread so I could fix a button on one of my shirts.

Now, I’m proud to say I have my own needle. And some thread. And a very already broken in seam ripper.

I don’t have too many more projects lined up to make for Jack. One day I might get crazy enough to figure out how to sew some actual clothes, but not yet.

After my Jack projects, though, I’m excited to work on some things for our niece and nephew for Christmas.

Until then, though, I’m pretty sure this apron is begging to be made and hung in my kitchen. (Confession: I have a deep love of aprons, but rarely wear them…)
Picture is from APrettyCoolLife.com

Today, Jack and I hit up my absolute favorite thrift store, Isabelle’s Thrift Boutique. I was able to score a navy turtleneck, a romper, and shirt (to use the fabric for a project) for $6! The fabric is from Hobby Lobby, totalling $1.25.

I’m working on ripping this stupid monogramming out. It’s a bit harder than I thought, but still worth the $3 and whatever it costs when I get it re-monogrammed for Jack.

the end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cammie permalink
    August 18, 2010 4:54 pm

    I’m lovin the part about your niece and nephew! 🙂

  2. August 20, 2010 1:09 pm

    that apron is awesome!

    while you’re hitting up thrift stores, look for cute skirts that may be too big or too small for you. then, rip the seams out of each side, resew the seams, add fabric to the top, and Voila! you have TWO aprons (if there’s not a zipper in the back). i’ve made a couple of aprons out of old skirts and they’re so cute and s.i.m.p.l.e.

    happy sewing!

  3. August 20, 2010 1:09 pm

    that apron is awesome! i’d want to make it, too. might just have to do that for a fun fall sewing project.

    while you’re hitting up thrift stores, look for cute skirts that may be too big or too small for you. then, rip the seams out of each side, resew the seams, add fabric to the top, and Voila! you have TWO aprons (if there’s not a zipper in the back). i’ve made a couple of aprons out of old skirts and they’re so cute and s.i.m.p.l.e.

    happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

