Skip to content

Accepting my Genes

August 5, 2010
by

I’ve mentioned several times here that being crafty and sewing/quilting run deep in my family, on both sides.

After an afternoon of perusing Etsy, I wanted to test the waters and see if I could make something myself.

And I did it!

I thought I could just run in a fabric shop and grab the colors. Uh, no. About an hour or more later, I was ready to go home.

I shamelessly copied this stitch by stitch. But I didn’t want to pay $25 for the shirt for Jack.

So, here it is! My first hand applique!

I need to find a plain white t-shirt for Jack to put it on. And I may need to redo the eyes; Reid said he looks sad, haha! Maybe they are a bit lopsided. Whoops!

Also, since it’s my blog and I can do what I want AND it’s our anniversary, here’s one of my favorite pictures of Reid. It was actually one of the first pictures I ever saw of him. How could I refuse a date with him after seeing this hot picture!? Hello!

Btw, he took that picture himself. The fact that we both do this is a sign that we’re meant to be together, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:18 am

    Happy Happy Happy Anniversay!!!

    FANTASTIC work on the applique. Me Maw would be so proud of you.

  2. Cammie permalink
    August 5, 2010 8:03 pm

    How about you make 2 appliques! Pretty sure that Carter would love a shirt too. Then, we can get my mom to make them some matching houndstooth shorts. Cute stuff!!!

    Happy Anniversay – Love ya’ll.

    And wow, Reid with short hair!!!

  3. August 6, 2010 6:55 am

    LOVE IT!!!!! How about making 3 appliques (Jack, Carter, and Zoë)?!? Tell me how much you’d charge, and I’ll get it to you! That’s awesome!!!

    That’s a great pic of your hottie husband, too. You guys were meant to be!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Clothes, Fabric, and Cars « ashley davis { blog }

Leave a Reply

