Skip to content

Wanna hear something gross?

August 2, 2010
by

I visited my new GI doctor today. I’d never been to one before, so wasn’t sure what to expect.

What I found were some arrogant remarks from the doctor that made me feel stupid, but that seems all too normal these days from doctors. Right?

We discussed the gluten and Celiac Disease.

But, he came up with a different diagnosis that I didn’t see coming.

Parasite.

Isn’t that something my cat would get?

He seems to think since I can pinpoint the exact week it started (our vacation in Gatlinburg), that I must have picked something up there.

I still got him to at least run a blood test for Celiac Disease, just in case. I’ll know those results next week.

I start my antibiotics to get rid of the parasite today. I told myself I wouldn’t, but I did google parasites and look at pictures. That makes me feel queasy!

However, I’m not entirely sure this is what I have; I mean, all he did was ask me some questions, touch my stomach, and say “Parasite.”

After two weeks of medicine, we’ll see if he’s right.

PS: I mentioned to Reid that I need to name my little friend. He replied with, “No! It’s not like there’s a chipmunk inside you!” Now that would be interesting!

PSS: Is this what I get for sharing a hot tub with a raccoon?

PSSS: If this really is a parasite, it’s a little funny that I get it now. In college, I swam in the Cahaba river, which we all swore we’d grow a third arm someday from that nasty water. But nothing happened. And now I have a parasite from who knows where.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cammie permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:12 pm

    Dustin said it could be from the creek we were in at Gatlinburg…..

  2. Nana permalink
    August 3, 2010 4:16 pm

    I told Ashley that, too. But how in the world could that have happened. No of us were no more than ankle deep EXCEPT for Dad. He was a little more than ankle deep for a few seconds anyway.

  3. August 11, 2010 12:30 pm

    I am so sorry you had a bad experience with your GI doctor. If you need it, I can send you the contact information for mine. He kind of has a shy personality but is very kind and compassionate. He treats you like a real person (not a faceless patient). When I was pregnant and having so much trouble, he and my OB would call back and forth to each other to make sure I was getting the best care and still taking care of the baby.

    If you don’t feel better after your antibiotics, you could also test for lactose intolerance and Crohn’s. They are both generally adult onset. My lactose intolerance first showed up on vacation to Gulf Shores.

    Hope you feel better soon!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

