Skip to content

What the who is wrong?!

July 14, 2010
by

Mid-week while we were in Gatlinburg, my stomach started hurting.

Honestly, I thought I was pregnant. My birth control is supposed to be better than the pill and 99.9% effective, but you still never know.

Since then, I’ve taken three pregnancy tests and all came back negative.

Not complaining there, but why is my stomach hurting?

Then, there were thoughts of bladder infection, UTI, etc.

When I called my OB/GYN to make an appointment, they were concerned and wanted me to come in ASAP because if I was pregnant with this birth control, it could be a big deal.

Then, panic set in. I’ve already been concerned about that, reading too much online about miscarriages, myopic pregnancies, baby being deformed, etc. Then, I also think, what if I have cancer? What if my appendix is about to burst and I don’t even know it! Or my gallbladder needs to be removed?

I like to think worst-case scenarios sometimes to prepare myself for the worst. It drives Reid crazy.

After being examined by the doctor, I’m told he can’t find anything wrong with me. That “it’ll probably go away as quickly as it came.” Um, my stomach hurts. And it’s been hurting for three weeks. And this is your answer?

While doing some more online research and talking to a few friends, which one of them dealt with this, I’m considering trying to cut out Gluten from my diet, as a trial.

At first, I said “yeah, right” because I thought it’d be too hard. Well, maybe not. I can still have my eggs, V8, sugar-free Jell-O, rice, chicken, ground turkey, etc. Just no bread, except for expensive kind, and a different brand of oatmeal. And little things here and there. Oh, and no cake, unless I make it with special flour.

I’m not sure I really believe cutting out gluten is going to help, but its worth a shot. If my stomach stops hurting by doing this and I don’t feel like curling up in a ball after I eat, then I might be a believer.

A GF friend mentioned going Gluten free for a month, then adding it back in (which there’s a gluten test where you eat 4 pieces of bread and then see how you feel).

I am going to eat my leftover Subway for lunch today, enjoying the bread one last time. Then, it’s gluten-free for a couple weeks.

Here’s something else–this is supposed to help those with autoimmune diseases. Guess what? Psoriasis falls into that category. Looks like I have one more reason to try it out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sweet&Savory permalink
    July 14, 2010 3:12 pm

    I’ve been cutting out ALL grains and Sugars and feel so much better. It was hard the first couple of days but then I stopped craving it! And I have totally read about people being healed of their skin issues by following this lifestyle. Hope it works for you sweet friend!

  2. July 16, 2010 10:44 am

    I’ve heard cutting gluten out can do wonders! Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

