Skip to content

Sweatin’ in line at Publix

June 30, 2010
by

I’ve felt a little burned out on the coupon front for the past couple months. I was still using coupons, but not as consistently and they were not organized at all!

Well, I got real motivated to work on my coupons when I found out that I no longer have a job as of yesterday! It’s not an ugly situation or anything; it’s simply that my boss can’t afford me right now with all the other expenses going on. There’s still a possibility I’ll come back on in a couple months, depending on finances. Honestly, I was crushed, and still sad, because I LOVED that job! The people are amazing. BUT I still get to see them because I still get to work out there. 🙂

Anyways, moving on.

I finally organized my coupons today. Throwing out expired ones, clipping new ones, looking up the deals, etc etc. It was an event.

I get to Publix, grab what I need and even used a calculator to add up how much my total would be. BUT at the end, I slacked on totaling, so I wasn’t real sure what it would be.

Then, when I’m checking out, I realize that I only have $35 in cash on me. No cards, no other change. I knew I’d be close, but I also knew I might be putting some stuff back.

I chose a teenage boy because they tend to not scrutinize every coupon. Wrong-o! This guy studied every coupon, and looked through my items.

Then, before he even started with my coupons, my total was over $100.

The sweat began.

And here come some more customers waiting behind me. Staring at me.

He gets done with the coupons and it’s $41 something. So, I dig out my precious sugar-free 60 calorie Jell-O packs (they were 3 for $6, but no coupons) to give back.

$35.48.

48 cents!? I don’t have 48 cents, I only have $35!

I dig out some juice, since I’m buying four, I can handle putting one back.

$34.36. Wheeeew.

I was so glad to get out of there. That poor guy behind me was staring a hole into my head; I knew he was annoyed. And the cashier. And the three bag boys.

But, I spent less than $35 and saved $73.95!

Oh, and getting into my car, I realized I had 48 cents in the console. Dang it!

AND one of the bag boys accidentally sent the Jell-O packs home with me, so now I have to take those back because I stole them!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cammie permalink
    June 30, 2010 8:07 pm

    Ash,
    I love you but I don’t think they want the Jello back!

  2. hollydoodle00 permalink
    July 1, 2010 6:09 am

    Wow…I was stressing out while reading that!!! I’d call Publix and explain what happened. They may tell you to keep the Jello and say thanks for your honesty.

    • July 1, 2010 6:14 am

      That’s what I figure since they’re so good about if they mess anything up, they give it to you free. I just didn’t want to feel guilty eating my jello, ha!

  3. July 1, 2010 7:04 am

    i’ll eat it.

  4. July 1, 2010 2:30 pm

    Great savings!!!! You did awesome! I’ve been there too and have had to put things back! It is soo embarrasing! And your right, everyone stares at you! You should have just said, “Stop staring at me b/c I just saved 75% of my grocery bill, and I bet you are paying full price”!!

Leave a Reply

