Skip to content

Safety First, right?

June 18, 2010
by

**UPDATE**
Ok, when I first wrote this, I didn’t mean for it to be a debate or to talk bad about Samantha. I will shamelessly wear my helmet, regardless, but I just thought it was funny that she thought it was funny. Sorry, Sam…

During a random conversation with Samantha and her sister, it came up that I wear a helmet when I ride my bike. And when I say ride my bike, I mean ride my bike through my neighborhood.

They started to laugh at me.

Yes, me and my pink helmet.

Sure, I’m not blazing the dangerous mountain terrain or on Hwy 280. But I’m not ashamed. I don’t trust cars on the main street through my neighborhood; I’m a little shocked I’ve never been clipped by a car! Especially, since you have to ride going with traffic on a bike. My life is in their hands. So, on the helmet goes.

I’m not the only crazy one, right!? What do you think- is it silly to wear my helmet through the neighborhood?

Reid wears his helmet when he bike rides, too.

**PS: I also have my name and emergency info in my Camelbak when I go running and biking because you just never know–SAFETY FIRST!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. hollydoodle00 permalink
    June 18, 2010 2:59 pm

    Again…I’m laughing. I like that you wear your helment. I’m all about the safety first deal! I also think it’s cute (and smart) that you have your name and number on your camelback.

  2. Reid permalink
    June 18, 2010 4:55 pm

    Um, it’s the law. Do people laugh at you wearing a seat belt? Personally I’ve never seen anybody biking around here that doesn’t wear a helmet.

  3. sheena permalink
    June 18, 2010 8:07 pm

    i take wearing helmets very seriously.
    casey thinks it’s silly but i make him wear one anyway.
    i don’t think it’s laughable at all. i watched my brother wreck on his bike and his helmet saved his head from being cracked wide open. the helmet had three huge holes in it but his head was just fine. why anyone would think it’s dumb to wear a helmet i have no idea. it just makes sense to me.

  4. June 18, 2010 8:12 pm

    I agree w/ you Ash, it’s always good to wear a helmet. I don’t currently have a decent bike to wear, but when I did, I wore my helmet as well. I hope to either get my bike fixed or get a different one, and when I do…I’ll be SURE to wear my helmet. It’s almost odd to see a biker (which there a LOT here in CO) not wearing a helmet. There are more bicyclists that wear helmets than motorcyclists. Weird huh!?!
    Way to go Ash.

  5. Cammie permalink
    June 18, 2010 9:44 pm

    Yeah, I’m with Reid on this….it is the LAW! No matter where you are riding you are supposed to be wearing a helmet.

Leave a Reply

