Skip to content

“Twilight in Forks”

June 7, 2010
by

Ok…

Confession. You all know that I recently read the Twilight Saga. I liked it, but I wouldn’t call myself a hardcore fan. And Harry Potter will always be number one in my mind.

Here’s the confession. I checked out “Twilight in Forks” at the library today; it’s a documentary about the town that Twilight is set in. I just thought it’d be interesting to listen to while I do laundry, etc.

Uhhh…Twilight fans scare me. They have fans that have moved to Forks, Washington solely because they love the movies/books.

Regardless, the community these fans have and their obsession is so fascinating.

I’m not making fun of the so-called “Twihards.” It’s interesting hearing their stories about how Twilight has affected their personal lives. On the DVD there’s even a segment on the psychology of why people visit Forks and why people are drawn to this story.

It’s also amazing to see how much the tourism from Twilights has boosted the town’s economy and how the town is accomodating fans.

Now, I can’t talk badly about obsession because when we visit Orlando again, we have big plans to visit Hogwarts, haha! And Reid has a sword from Lord of the Rings hanging up in our house, along with a lightsaber on display. And do I plan to wear my Harry Potter scarf and glasses to the next movie? You betcha.

In other news…
Allow me to be a proud mom for a moment and share these photos that make me smile!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Pam permalink
    June 7, 2010 3:22 pm

    Sally told me how to get to your blog. Boy, am I glad!!! Jack is precious. Love the Chewy video. Love the laugh. Happy boy!!! I’ll check in regularly now!!

  2. Nana permalink
    June 7, 2010 7:40 pm

    These pictures are great!! He is so happy! Chewy might be happy, too. At least he is hanging around for the photo opt.

  3. June 7, 2010 8:08 pm

    Forget Forks, Sally and I (and Laura) discovered Volterra long before the freaks ever heard of it.

  4. ryansamantha permalink
    June 8, 2010 6:21 am

    Oh my goodness! I love that middle picture-way too cute!!!

  5. Rita permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:33 am

    ALWAYS enjoy photos of our sweet Jack!!! These are too precious!!! He is growing up so. Love y’all

  6. June 8, 2010 8:38 pm

    I’m right there with you. The experience of reading Twilight was great…entertaining, consuming, obsessive (like Harry, right?) but in the end, forgettable and leaving much to be desired. I hated the way it ended. Dumb, dumb, dumb.

    Anyway, I am still in shock when I hear about crazy Twilight fans (including mothers of teenage girls) who are obsessed with the movies. I mean, they’re TERRIBLE. I think that documentary would freak me out.

    I’m always happy to read about another Harry Potter fan 🙂 I only let myself read the books every 2 years. 2011 is just around the corner!! Hehe!

Leave a Reply

