Skip to content

Shaun T. really is insane

June 2, 2010
by

My brother in law (Hey, Dustin!) got me into P90X a year ago. I don’t stick to it as much anymore, but still do a P90X workout every once in a while.

Well, Dustin let me borrow Insanity. I never thought I’d ask to borrow it, but curiosity got the better of me.

I did a full week. All cussing and my legs giving out aside, I liked it. I think, haha!

I love that it’s not even 40 minutes long (P90X workouts are at leat an hour.) And even after a week, I’m already getting better at it.

Here’s a quote from webforhealth.com

The concept behind this workout is Plyometrics where you will be stimulate a specific pattern of muscle contraction so the muscle produces as strong a contraction as possible in the shortest amount of time. A Plyometric contraction entails a rapid muscle lengthening movement first followed by a short resting phase, then finally an explosive muscle shortening movement. You will need to draw upon every ounce of strength and willpower you have in reserve to get through Insanity Workout but the rewards are worth the effort.

The thing I don’t like about it is there are no weights. Now, you do push ups and things like that, but I want to make sure I’m not going to lose any of my muscle mass, so I’m going to add weight lifting three days a week to it.

I’m not sure I’m going to commit to doing Insanity everyday, like the program suggests. Plyometrics (jump training), which is in every day’s workout, is not my favorite thing. If it gets to where I dread or hate doing it, I’m not going to do it. It’s not worth it and there are plenty of things I do love.

Like yesterday, I needed to workout, but knew I needed to get out of the house. I’m prepping for a yard sale this weekend, so I knew I’d be tempted to stop and work on that. Also, it had overtaken my living room. So, I went for a 6 mile bike ride instead. However, I did end up doing Insanity late last night.

If you wanna have an Insanity date with me sometime, come on over! I think it’d be a lot more fun with someone else!

One more thought about Insanity. Most people get hung up on what exercise program should I do? Do I have to do P90X or Insanity to drop a lot of weight? Do I have to do the elliptical, or can I use the bike? Etc etc.

The answer to those questions is do what you like. If you find something you enjoy (or can tolerate) you’re more likely to keep doing it. Consistency is the key!

the end.

PS: Here’s the Insanity infomercial:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

