Skip to content

Adventurous Walk

May 12, 2010
by

Our neighbors right next door to us are getting a brand new roof. They started yesterday, which means lots of hammering, loud talking, and today I can hear some kind of machine humming. This also means Jack’s naps have been a little interrupted from the noise.

So, Jack and I went for a walk yesterday to get away!

I normally get really bored walking through our neighborhood just because it’s all familiar and we’ve walked/ran it so many time.

But, I finally decided to take a trail in the neighborhood behind us to switch it up. I never took it while running because the gravel makes me nervous.

Before we even got to the trail, just 20 minutes into it, Jack was asleep! The kid that won’t fall asleep in the car during an 8 hour drive will sleep in the jogging stroller, in the sun, with Jack Hester’s preaching in the background.

Photobucket

This is how the trail started out…very civilized.
Photobucket

Then, once we were through the trees, it was closed in around us, with trees surrounding us and a creek on the right. I saw a couple turtles, some tadpoles. The whole time I was walking, I kept thinking that any minute a snake was going to pop out and eat me, but it didn’t.

It was really serene.
Photobucket

Photobucket

The other side of the trail was a bit more sketchy and I’m not sure it was meant to be a trail. I walked a little faster through that. Then, at the end, I had to go up a steep 5 ft hill to get back on the main road.

That ended up being harder than I thought when the stroller got stuck on a rock. Let’s just say that fear of Jack rolling in the stroller gave me incredible strength, haha!

All in all, it was a good walk. We were gone for over an hour!

the end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 8:48 am

    running on trails is so much better for you anyways, rather than concrete or hard surfaces. That’s one thing I really enjoy here in Denver, there are so many gravel trails. Keep running on it; soon you won’t want to run on the road anymore.

  2. sheena permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:26 am

    i had no idea this was near yalls house.
    i’ll go run on it with you!

Leave a Reply

