Skip to content

We Made it and We Love it!

April 30, 2010
by

MakeIt-LoveIt.com is so inspiring! I’m always finding things I want to make.

But there’s a problem.

I’m no seamstress.

My Mom would be ashamed of my sewing yesterday. Sewing and quilting runs in my family (both sides!), generations deep. It seems to have skipped me, though.

Samantha actually CAN sew. And monogram. And whip stuff up out of nowhere!

So, Samantha was gracious enough to humor me and walk me through making a camera strap yesterday. I’ve been eyeing them online lately, but of course, the one I really want is $80. The one I made, though, was less than $2!

We used this tutorial. If you’re not a seamstress, like me, just search etsy or visit Shey B’s site.

Btw, I only had to use the seam ripper twice. I’m sure Samantha questioned how I have a college degree yesterday!

Part of our mess:

Noah helping out

I used this blurry pic b/c I look hardcore:

The finished product! Don’t look too closely at the stitching at the ends. I need to fix that…

I don’t even have pictures of Samantha’s strap! Maybe she’ll post some…

Also, I must mention that Samantha shared some her leftover {Pioneer Woman’s} Chicken Spaghetti with me and Jack. It was so good and I looked up the recipe this morning and plan on making it soon. Although, for some reason, I feel like I’m cheating on my Mom by using someone else’s recipe. I’ve used my Mom’s chicken spaghetti recipe several times; it’s amazing…but I still want to try this. I have a weakness for casseroles; they’re such a comfort food!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 8:23 am

    i love the fabric you picked for the camera strap! you did such a great job on it. i’m not a pro seamstress either. i’ve only been sewing for a year now. i use the ripper often. 🙂

    you should upload pictures of your camera strap onto smm’s flickr group so you can show it off to other readers! http://www.flickr.com/groups/simplymodernmom/

  2. April 30, 2010 10:53 am

    make me a guitar strap!

Leave a Reply

