Skip to content

Life of Jack, almost 13 months…

April 20, 2010
tags:
by

Seeing Jack’s progression in the past two weeks is stunning. More and more I’m realizing that he’s moving into the toddler stage.

He’s mimicking a lot. He shakes his head “no” almost every time we tell him “no.” It’s cute, until we have to turn our heads because we’re laughing when we’re trying to be stern.

He has 11 teeth! Two more molars snuck in without us even knowing!

I bought him a little punch ball because he loves balloons so much and I knew this would last longer and not pop, and he’s been holding onto the rubber band, doing it like we showed him.

I’m trying to teach him where his nose, eyes, etc are, but that’s a no go, for now, haha.

He’s been throwing food on the floor to tell us that he’s done eating. I said I wasn’t going to teach Jack sign language, but I think he could handle learning “all done” so we aren’t mopping the floor everyday.

He’s been walking around, holding onto the walls! As much as he hates when we try to make him stand on his own, he likes to move. Hmmm…I’m still holding my bet that he won’t walk til he’s 14 or 15 months.

We’ve been working on putting shapes into the right places on this toy. He put the star in yesterday! Whether it was luck or smarts, I’m so proud!

This boy is always thirsty! I’m just glad I never have to worry if he’s getting in his 24 ounces of dairy a day. Food, however, is a little different. He eats a lot one day, then barely eats for the next two. Grapes are a favorite lately.

Every once in a while he’ll point and something and say “dat” (translated to “that”). That’s a new thing. He’s getting curiouser and curiouser.

___________
I’ve been reading What to Expect: The Toddler Years lately. I hadn’t read anything in a while that was a month to month update on where you child might and should be, etc.

I really have to be careful reading it! It almost makes me panic, thinking he’s not where he should be yet and not doing certain things. Then I worry it’s my fault- that I’m not reading to him enough or playing with the right developmental toys or singing the right songs.

I got over it when he was a baby, knowing he’d learn and do things at his own pace; but with the toddler things, they put a lot of emphasis on the parents involvement.

So, yeah. Just throwing those fears out there. Anyone else struggle with this?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 7:17 pm

    The best thing you can do is give Jack the book to play with. That way he can enjoy drooling on the pages, ripping them out, and chasing the cat with them, and you don’t have to read any more ridiculous parenting advice 🙂

  2. Reid permalink
    April 21, 2010 8:07 am

    Needless to say, I’m with Tom on this one.

    • April 21, 2010 8:08 am

      I know. It’s only every once in a while that I freak out about it…Next kid, I probably won’t care at all, haha!

Leave a Reply

